A guide to the biology resources at Heritage University
- Credo Reference
Over 500 encyclopedias and dictionaries all merged together, includes a fair bit of biology reference material.
- Britannica Online
The online version of the oldest and most famous encyclopedia in the world.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
This is a collection of encyclopedias which includes some biology-specific sources.
Jump right in by searching our largest and most extensive database!
Academic Search Premier indexes over 8,300 journals from a wide range of disciplines. It includes full text availability for more than 4,500 titles. This is our largest and most general purpose database. A good place to start on nearly any question.
Places to look first.
- Biology Journals from Proquest
Over 400 journals covering all aspects of biology, with over 300 of them availabe in full text.
This resource includes both biology and biomedical resources; while medical information is its speciality, there is enough general biology content here to make it worth using.
These sources are more focused and less general.
- Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
This source focuses mostly on chemistry and physics but some of its content should be useful for a biology student as well.
Material from the Department of Agriculture's National Agriculture Library. Most of the focus is obviously farming but there is material on environmental or ecosystem impacts, effects of pollutants, and so forth.
Another place to look for journal articles online.