Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M*
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
Merlot System M*
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
OER Commons*
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
Open Culture
“Get free courses online from the world’s leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player. For more online courses, visit our complete collection.”—from the website
Edsitement!
Learning objects and lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It offers a large collection of peer evaluated websites.
Opentext BC
Welcome to the BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory. This support resource lists a broad range of open educational resources (OER) organized by discipline. OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that, through permissions granted by the copyright holder, allow others to use, distribute, keep, or make changes to them.
Preprints
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
Art Images for College Teaching
"Art Images for College Teaching (AICT) began as a personal project dedicated to the principle of free exchange of image resources for and among members of the educational community. The University of Michigan Library provides access to this collection for educational and research purposes. Allan T. Kohl, the creator of this collection, has dedicated any copyright he might hold in the collection to the public domain, via the CC0 1.0 Public Domain Dedication." -- from the website
Getty Museum - Open Content Program
"The collection of the J. Paul Getty Museum comprises Greek, Roman, and Etruscan art from the Neolithic to Late Antiquity; European art—including illuminated manuscripts, paintings, drawings, sculpture, and decorative arts—from the Middle Ages to the early twentieth century; and international photography from its inception to the present day." -- from the website
Google Arts & Culture
"Use tools to explore by time and color, zoom to view artworks in amazing detail, tour famous sites and landmarks, and more." -- from the website
The Guggenheim Museum
"Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks. The selection reflects the breadth, diversity, and tenor of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation’s extensive holdings from the late 19th century through the present day. The Collection Online is continually expanded to include a larger representation of the museum’s core holdings as well as recent acquisitions." -- from the website
Italian Renaissance Resources
"A freely available resource, this site features eight units, each of which explores a different theme in Italian Renaissance art. Researchers and students can explore thematic essays, more than 300 images, 300 glossary items and 42 primary source texts." -- from the website
Metropolitan Museum of Art Image Gallery
"The Metropolitan Museum of Art presents over 5,000 years of art from around the world for everyone to experience and enjoy. The Museum lives in two iconic sites in New York City—The Met Fifth Avenue and The Met Cloisters. Millions of people also take part in The Met experience online." -- from the website
Smithsonian Libraries: Digital Library: Art and Design
"Welcome to your Smithsonian Libraries and Archives. Previously two separate entities, the Smithsonian Libraries and the Smithsonian Institution Archives have now joined forces to better serve researchers, curators, educators, and learners of all ages at the Smithsonian and around the world." -- from the website
VADS (formerly an initialism for Visual Arts Data Service )
"VADS provides a national collection of over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections across the UK, which are freely available for non-commercial use in education. The images cover the broad range of the visual arts including applied arts, architecture, design, fashion, fine art, and media. VADS is a service of the Library at the University for the Creative Arts (UCA)." -- from the website
Bloomsbury Open Access
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
“DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
OAPEN
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Open Textbooks
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Project Gutenberg - Art Bookshelf
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
Wikibooks M*
“Welcome to Wikibooks, the open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit. 3,204 books with 89,061 pages..”—from the website
Khan Academy*
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
Lumen Learning*
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware*
“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
Library of Congress
“The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.”—from the website
OASIS*
“Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. .”—from the website
Annenberg Learner
As part of its mission to advance excellent teaching in American schools, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home, with videos that exemplify excellent teaching. Annenberg Learner also partners with impactful organizations to provide other means of achieving this goal. As part of the Annenberg Foundation, Learner supports the Foundation’s mission to encourage the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.
ArtBabble.org
An online community that uses videos to discuss, share and celebrate the world we know as art. Launched by the Indianapolis Museum of Art, the site features videos of cultural highlights from more than 20 organizations, including the Museum of Modern Art, New York City, the Art Institute of Chicago, the Van Gogh Museum, Amsterdam, and most recently the High Museum of Art, Atlanta.
Creative Commons
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
Stage Two Creative Strategies
These films contain examples of tendencies and patterns in way Ideas are developed in art practice This is the main area for developmental strategies: the following methods are interchangeable and applicable at any stage of development, in two or three dimensions.
TED Talks*
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
University Videos
This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities. Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers. User Benefits: there are four main user-enhancement features to watch for:
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website
DOAJ*
“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
The Georgia Knowledge Repository*
“The Georgia Knowledge Repository, an initiative of GALILEO, is a digital archive that includes the academic and intellectual works of Georgia’s colleges and universities. Its purpose is to highlight the scholarship of the participating institutions while also making it available to the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large. Digital collections from the University of Georgia.”—from the website
Coursera M*
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX M*
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one: Increase access to high-quality education for everyone, everywhere. Enhance teaching and learning on campus and online. Advance teaching and learning through research.”—from the website
MIT Open CourseWare*
“The idea is simple: to publish all of our course materials online and make them widely available to everyone.” Dick K.P. Yue, Professor, MIT School of Engineering.”—from the website
Saylor Academy*
“A nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”
Memrise - Art*
"The History of Modern Art, 20-21centuriesWestern culture today ! Famous paintings, sculptures, pieces of art and much more ! 64 artists ! Join millions of people who are already learning for free on Memrise! It’s fast, it’s fun and it’s mind-bogglingly effective." from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |