Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M* --Nursing
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
Merlot System M* --Nursing
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
Open Michigan–Nursing Resources
“Make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. We are the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.”—from the website
OER Commons* --Nursing
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
Digital Commons Nursing Commons
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
bioRxiv
“bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.”—from the website
DOE (Department of Energy) Pages
“The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) is the DOE discovery tool, developed by the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), that makes peer-reviewed scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE research funding publicly accessible.”—from the website
Open Science (OSF) Preprints
“For COS to achieve our mission, we must drive change in the culture and incentives that drive researchers’ behavior, the infrastructure that supports their research, and the business models that dominate scholarly communication.”—from the website
Preprints
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
Alison--Nursing
From Art to Zoology, Alison has thousands of free online courses and is adding more all the time. We seek out experts in their field to design learning material that is comprehensive, broken down into manageable chunks and gives you a series of achievable learning outcomes. Our online courses strive to provide interactive and rich studying experiences - for anyone in the world, wherever they are.
Class Central*—Nursing
“Class Central is a search engine and reviews site for free online courses popularly known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.”—from the website
Coursera *-- Nursing
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX* --Nursing
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
Future Learn --Nursing
John Hopkins School of Public Health Open Courses
OCW makes JHSPH course materials used in the teaching of actual courses freely and openly available on the Web. You may share and adapt the materials on OCW under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution
OpenLearn
“Welcome to OpenLearn - the home of free learning from The Open University. Are you looking for a new topic to explore, or want to dig deeper into something you've already discovered? Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free.”—from the website
Open Michigan--Nursing
Open Michigan enables the University of Michigan community to make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. We are the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.
Data & Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
CDC secures global health and America’s preparedness by revitalizing our public health infrastructure, stopping the spread of contagions and vector-borne diseases, and addressing bioterrorism threats.
Data.gov
The Data.gov team typically works with a designated open data point of contact as a liaison for each agency. Data publishers should consult with their agency point of contact to include any additional datasets on Data.gov.
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web.
Partners - Health Data Tools & Statistics
Helping the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health.
United States Census Bureau: Health
Health statistics are increasingly important in measuring the nation’s overall well-being. The Census Bureau provides accurate, detailed, and up-to-date statistics—covering people and business—relating to health in America.
Women of Color Health Data Book
The acquisition of quality care and the resulting health outcomes for women of color are shaped by various socio-cultural-economic factors. These include the physical and social environments (especially for American Indians or Alaska Natives, Hispanics, and African Americans), linguistic isolation (especially Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Hawaiians or Other Pacific Islanders), and racism (especially African Americans and Asian Americans).
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) -- Nursing
“DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
Free Book Centre—Nursing
Freebookcentre.net contains links to thousands of free online technical books. The books collection are either downloadable or can be viewed online. Our collections include core Computer Science, Electronics, Science, Medical and many more. You are welcome to follow the following links for the free books tour.
InTechOpen--Nursing
inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP) --Nursing
“The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
OAPEN --Nursing
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Open Nursing
The project is led by Chippewa Valley Technical College, and the textbooks are being collaboratively written with faculty from Wisconsin technical colleges. The books will be reviewed by statewide nursing faculty, deans, healthcare alliance members, and other industry representatives to ensure the content is current and accurate.
Open Textbook Library--Nursing
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Open Textbooks__Nursing
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Wikibooks M* --Health Sciences
“Welcome to Wikibooks, the open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit. 3,204 books with 89,061 pages..”—from the website
Faculty of 1000
“F1000Research is an Open Research publishing platform for scientists, scholars and clinicians offering rapid publication of articles and other research outputs without editorial bias. All articles benefit from transparent peer review and editorial guidance on making all source data openly available.”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
MedEdPORTAL
MedEdPORTAL is a MEDLINE-indexed, open-access journal of teaching and learning resources in the health professions published by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC), in partnership with the American Dental Education Association. MedEdPORTAL publications are stand-alone, complete teaching or learning modules that have been implemented and evaluated with medical or dental trainees or practitioners.
Academic Earth--Nursing
Students who decide to enter college to pursue history might feel overwhelmed by the broadness of it all, as there is so much potential time and information to digest. Luckily, most programs require students to choose a specialty, so they can focus on a particular era, region or group of people during their studies.
GW School of Nursing Open Educational Resources
GW School of Nursing is pleased to share this collection of Open Educational Resources (OERs) for use by nurse educators worldwide. These interactive multimedia learning materials are outcomes of several grant-funded research projects sponsored by the US Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), including the Advanced Nursing Education, Geriatric Education using a Palliative Care Framework (GEPaC), and the Teaching and Transforming through Technology (T3) projects.
Khan Academy* --Nursing
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware** --Nursing
“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
HEAL Collection
The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library.
LibreTexts M*--Nursing
OASIS *---Nursing
“Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. .”—from the website
Portal of Geriatrics Online Education
"The Portal of Geriatrics Online Education (POGOe) is free collection of expert-contributed geriatrics educational materials for educators and learners. Our materials are available digitally and use various teaching methods."--from the website
Skills Commons—Nursing
"TAACCCT provides community colleges and other eligible institutions of higher education with funds to expand and improve their ability to deliver education and career training programs."--from the website
A Prescription for Training Healthcare Workers in Tennessee (RX TN)
"A Prescription for Healthcare Training in Tennessee (RX TN) is designed to improve the opportunities to TAA-eligible work."--from the website
Advancing Career and Training for Healthcare (ACT)
"ACT for Healthcare is a statewide project with participation from all 16 colleges in the Wisconsin Technical College teachers and others in healthcare related training while at the same time meet the needs of the healthcare employers and industry. The project contains a strong Student Support Prescription component designed to serve students and potential students to prepare for and make good decisions in selecting healthcare training as well as being successful once they start training to complete and obtain employment."--from the website
Journal of Clinical Case Studies
Clinical Research or Clinical study is unique to the individual, where interventions are given according to a protocol. Now a days, clinical case studies drag the attention of the investigators since they are different from individual to individual and provides interesting treatment approaches for either various disease types or the same. As the personalized medicine grows, clinicians and medical doctors are interested in clinical case presentations; each case present provides new insights in diagnosis and treatment methods.
SAGE Open Medical Case Reports
SAGE Open Medical Case Reports is a peer-reviewed, open access journal, which focusses on providing a publication home for short case reports and case series, which often do not find a place in traditional primary research journals, but provide key insights into real medical cases that are essential for physicians, and may ultimately help to improve patient outcomes. This journal is indexed on PubMed Central and ESCI and is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
EM Sim Cases
A culmination of blog posts on topics related to simulation and medical education. SiMEDucation at its finest.
Massachusetts Nursing Initiative - Simulation Scenario Library
Welcome to the Massachusetts Department of Higher Education (DHE) Nursing Initiative Simulation Scenario Library. The Nursing Initiative encourages the enhancement of learning opportunities for students and incumbent workers through the use of simulation technology. All the scenarios available for download on this site were developed by academic/practice partnerships with grant funding provided by the Nursing Initiative. The scenarios on this site are available for download to registered users at no cost.
Nursing Simulation Scenario Library (Montgomery College)
The Nursing Simulation Scenario Library is a resource for nursing educators in all settings and made possible by the generosity of the Healthcare Initiative Foundation. The library is being expanded through the support of the Nurse Support Program (NSPII) funded by the Maryland Health Services Cost Review Commission (HSCRC). Please read the Terms & Conditions of use. We welcome your feedback on the library and encourage you to utilize and share this resource with other nurse educators.
thesimtech.com
A free online resource focused on healthcare simulation technology. Based on continuing contributions from the simulation community, thesimtech's goal is to become an 'online hub' for sharing ideas and information for all things related to medical simulation.
MedlinePlus
Boost your health knowledge by playing these interactive health games.
ToxTutor
ToxTutor is a self-paced tutorial covering key principles of toxicology and was adopted from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) chemical and toxicology databases. While a knowledge of anatomy and physiology is not required for viewing ToxTutor, the Introduction to the Human Body from the National Cancer Institute provides a good introduction to the topic.
BioMed Central
“BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine. In 1999 we made high quality research open to everyone who needed to access it – and in making the open access model sustainable, we changed the world of academic publishing.”—from the website
DOAJ*
“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
Europe PMC
Europe PMC is an open science platform that enables access to a worldwide collection of life science publications and preprints from trusted sources around the globe. Europe PMC is developed by EMBL-EBI. It is a partner of PubMed Central and a repository of choice for many international science funders. Free, transparent, and community-driven, Europe PMC is your gateway to life science research.
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
The Georgia Knowledge Repository*
“The Georgia Knowledge Repository, an initiative of GALILEO, is a digital archive that includes the academic and intellectual works of Georgia’s colleges and universities. Its purpose is to highlight the scholarship of the participating institutions while also making it available to the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large. Digital collections from the University of Georgia.”—from the website
Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
Open Access Publications—Nursing
We are an organization that amalgamates Open Access Publications and International science events for the benefit of the global scientific community. The organization was established in the year 2007 with the sole aim of providing a platform for "Open Access" to the research information pertaining to diversified fields of Science and technology.
PubMed Central*
“Understanding nature's mute but elegant language of living cells is the quest of modern molecular biology. From an alphabet of only four letters representing the chemical subunits of DNA emerges a syntax of life processes whose most complex expression is man (sic).”—from the website
openmd.com M*
Guide to the best sources of free medical videos, including procedures, operations, and lectures. With few exceptions, all listed sites offer their video libraries for free and without registration.
MAYO Clinic- Medical Professional Video Center
A single copy of these materials may be reprinted for noncommercial personal use only. "Mayo," "Mayo Clinic," "MayoClinic.com," "EmbodyHealth," "Enhance your life," and the triple-shield Mayo Clinic logo are trademarks of Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research.
Medscape Video
Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME
MEDtube
MEDtube is the largest social eLearning platform for 250,000+ professionals sharing 25,000+ videos, courses, images, documents and webinars
Merck Manual Videos
First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers. As the Manual evolved, it continually expanded the reach and depth of its offerings to reflect the mission of providing the best medical information of the day to a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. We welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages.
TedMed*
The TEDMED Foundation (TEDMED) is the independent health and medicine edition of the world-famous TED conference, dedicated to “ideas worth spreading.” TED Talks have been viewed online over two billion times around the world.
WISC-Online--Nursing
As a non-profit serving the private and public sectors, our products range from corporate learning solutions to free, publicly accessible instructional programs. Our award-winning learning objects have been providing student success and homework help for over a decade.
Open I: Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. Searching may be done using text queries as well as query images. Open-i provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.
Open Oregon Image list
Open Oregon Educational Resources promotes textbook affordability for community college and university students, and facilitates widespread adoption of open, low-cost, high-quality materials.
Nursing OER Environmental Scan
As part of eCampusOntario’s ‘Open at Scale’ initiative, a team from the University of Windsor and Western University conducted an environmental scan of nursing-related open educational resources (OER). This environmental scan aimed to identify existing or soon-to-be released nursing OER that can be adopted or adapted for nursing courses delivered by post-secondary institutions based in Ontario, Canada. It also aimed to surface gaps in the existing OER landscape as potential targets for future strategic OER development initiatives.
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |