arXiv
“A curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. As a pioneer in digital open access, arXiv.org now hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas, curated by our strong community of volunteer moderators.”—from the website
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M*
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
Merlot System M*
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
Open Michigan--Engineering
“Make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. We are the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.”—from the website
OER Commons--Engineering
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
DOE (Department of Energy) Pages
“The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) is the DOE discovery tool, developed by the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), that makes peer-reviewed scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE research funding publicly accessible.”—from the website
Open Science (OSF) Preprints--Engineering
“For COS to achieve our mission, we must drive change in the culture and incentives that drive researchers’ behavior, the infrastructure that supports their research, and the business models that dominate scholarly communication.”—from the website
Preprints -- Engineering
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
Alison--Engineering
“From Art to Zoology, Alison has thousands of free online courses and is adding more all the time. We seek out experts in their field to design learning material that is comprehensive, broken down into manageable chunks and gives you a series of achievable learning outcomes. Our online courses strive to provide interactive and rich studying experiences - for anyone in the world, wherever they are.”—from the website
Class Central*—Engineering
“Class Central is a search engine and reviews site for free online courses popularly known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.”—from the website
Coursera--
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX --Engineering
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
MIT Open Courseware* --Engineering
“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
Open Learning Initiative:
“OLI provides dozens of college-level courses, and a platform that enables research and experimentation with any aspect of the learning experience. Maintenance fee varies, but most cost $25 per student. They range from $15 to $80.”—from the website
Stanford Engineering Everywhere (SEE)
“Stanford Engineering Everywhere (SEE) expands the Stanford experience to students and educators online and at no charge. A computer and an Internet connection are all you need. The SEE course portfolio includes one of Stanford's most popular sequences: the three-course Introduction to Computer Science, taken by the majority of Stanford’s undergraduates, as well as more advanced courses in artificial intelligence and electrical engineering.”—from the website
TU Delft Open Courseware
“TU Delft OpenCourseWare provides free and open educational resources of high quality university‐level, organised as courses. You may download, revise, remix and re distribute the resources published at TU Delft OpenCourseWare, as long as you adhere to the Creative Commons conditions.”—from the website
UCI Open-
“The University of California, Irvine launched its OpenCourseWare initiative in November 2006. Since then, it has rapidly grown to become one of the premiere sites in the United States. Today, its YouTube channel, is viewed more than a million minutes per month. Its OpenChem project contains video lectures and additional material for nearly all the courses needed to complete an undergraduate chemistry degree.”—from the website
BC Campus Online--Engineering
“Search for quality open textbooks offered in a variety of digital formats; the first step in adopting open educational resources. Search by subject and download them to your computer.”—from the website
Bloomsbury Open Access--Engineering
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) -- Engineering
“DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
Free Book Centre
“Freebookcentre.net contains links to thousands of free online technical books. The books collection are either downloadable or can be viewed online. Our collections include core Computer Science, Electronics, Science, Medical and many more. You are welcome to follow the following links for the free books tour.”—from the website
InTechOpen—Engineering
“inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP)-- Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences
“The National “Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
OAPEN
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Open Textbooks --Engineering
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Springer Open Access Books: Engineering
“Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from journals, books, series, protocols, reference works and proceedings.”—from the website
Wikibooks M* Engineering
“Welcome to Wikibooks, the open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit. 3,204 books with 89,061 pages..”—from the website
Academic Earth--Engineering
“Much of what we use in our everyday lives wouldn't exist without the work of engineers. From the cars we drive to the food we eat, engineers play a role in developing the most-critical and world-changing machines, processes, and materials. These professional thinkers and innovators design everything around us and solve problems to shape the modern world we know and appreciate today..”—from the website
All About Circuits (AAC)
“AAC provides resources and facilitates discussion amongst EEs to provide real-world solutions to the challenges they face today. Whether you’re learning RF design, honing your PCB layout skills, figuring out Verilog, or looking for inspiration for your next design, AAC is your home for technical information, news, and tools.”—from the website
Collin's Lab -Make
A video series featuring electronics topics.
Khan Academy*
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
LibreTexts M*--Engineering
“The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.”—from the website
MathCentre
“mathcentre continues to host mathematics support resources and materials, free of charge for use by students, lecturers and anyone looking for post-16 maths help. The mathcentre site is now run by the sigma Network.”—from the website
MyOpenMath
“MyOpenMath is a collaborative community of users. MyOpenMath.com provides managed hosting of the open source IMathAS online assessment software. Questions and pre-built courses are all created by faculty in the user community and shared with others in the spirit of openness. Experienced users provide peer-to-peer support through discussion forums.”—from the website
NanoHUB
“nanoHUB.org is the premier place for computational nanotechnology research, education, and collaboration. Our site hosts a rapidly growing collection of Simulation Programs for nanoscale phenomena that run in the cloud and are accessible through a web browser.”—from the website
National Science Foundation (NSF)--Engineering
“The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." NSF is vital because we support basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future.”—from the website
University of Cambridge Dissemination of IT for the Promotion of Materials Science (DoITPoMS)
“DoITPoMS (Dissemination of IT for the promotion of Materials Science) was set up in 2000, as a joint venture involving the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy at the University of Cambridge, and five partner institutions: Institute for Materials Research, University of Leeds; London Metropolitan Polymer Centre, London Metropolitan University; Manchester Materials Science Centre, University of Manchester/UMIST; Department of Mechanical Engineering, Oxford Brookes University; Department of Engineering Materials, University of Sheffield. Close links also exist with the UK Centre for Materials Education and with the MATTER project, both based at the University of Liverpool.”—from the website
Wolfram Demonstrations Project
“Conceived by Mathematica creator and scientist Stephen Wolfram as a way to bring computational exploration to the widest possible audience, the Wolfram Demonstrations Project is an open-code resource that uses dynamic computation to illuminate concepts in science, technology, mathematics, art, finance, and a remarkable range of other fields.”—from the website
Efunda: Engineering Fundamentals
“eFunda is all about the basics, for most part, that means college level material covered in engineering schools. If you practice engineering, more often than not you would find yourself searching for something you knew but could not quite remember. eFunda wants to be your reminder of these formulas. Not only that, eFunda wants to tell you exactly under what conditions those formulas apply, so you don't have to read an entire chapter of the good old textbook.”—from the website
ENGINEERING.com
“Our mission is to inform, inspire and engage engineering minds to be and do better. How we do that is by sharing in-depth original content that excites and educates, paired with our customizable platform, ProjectBoard for STEM communities to take action and showcase their achievements.”—from the website
Online Interactive Graphing Application -Desmos
“Desmos wants to build a world where every student learns math and loves learning math, where a student’s access to the power and beauty of math doesn't depend on their place of birth, race, ethnicity, gender, or any other aspect of their identity.”—from the website
Academic Journals—Engineering
"Academic Journals currently publishes 111 open access journals covering art and humanities, engineering, medical science, social sciences, biological sciences, physical sciences and agricultural sciences.”—from the website
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
Georgia Knowledge Repository*
“The Georgia Knowledge Repository, an initiative of GALILEO, is a digital archive that includes the academic and intellectual works of Georgia’s colleges and universities. Its purpose is to highlight the scholarship of the participating institutions while also making it available to the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large. Digital collections from the University of Georgia.”—from the website
Journal TOCs--Engineering
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
Scientific Research Publishing (Scirp)--Engineering
“Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines. SCIRP serves the worldwide academic communities and contributes to the progress and application of science with its publication.”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
Crash Course -- Engineering
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube!
Creative Commons
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
ECE YouTube videos
“Tutorial videos on signal processing and random signals from UMass Dartmouth's ECE 320 and ECE 521 courses.”—from the website
TED Talks -- Engineering
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website
Open Courseware & Educational Resources for Instructors & Students
“This website consists of a series of 3D simulations on engineering technology topics that are covered in EICC’s program.
These simulations, developed by a local Quad City e-Learning Company Lucid Way (which are approximately from 2-9 minutes long) are used as part of their curriculum to help students quickly and thoroughly grasp the concepts being presented in a visual format. The instructional methodology used in this project can be better explained through the following presentation.”—from the website
“Millions of developers and companies build, ship, and maintain their software on GitHub—the largest and most advanced development platform in the world. Top languages: Jupyter Notebook CSS Python TeX HTML.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |