HippoCampus M --History
“HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animation, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors.”—from the website
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM)--History M*“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
The Merlot System—History M*“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
Open Michigan-- History
“Make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. We are the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.”—from the website
OER Commons*-- History
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
Open Culture--History
“Get free courses online from the world’s leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player. For more online courses, visit our complete collection.”—from the website
Coursera--History M*“
Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX--History*
"There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one: Increase access to high-quality education for everyone, everywhere. Enhance teaching and learning on campus and online. Advance teaching and learning through research.”—from the website
Ohio Open Ed Collaborative
Faculty teams representing Ohio's 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities, both public and private, put these guides together to present alternatives to commercial textbooks for Ohio students. Full course guides using OER materials are available for many of Ohio's high enrollment courses. They can be adopted in full or in part to meet the needs of course instructors. The courses have been divided into modules that meet the objectives of the Ohio Department of Higher Education's Transfer Assurance Guides (TAGs) and Ohio Transfer Module (OTM) guidelines.
Open Course Library
“A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.” Some textbooks paired with courses may have to be purchased. Most are not more than $30.”—from the website
Open Learn—History & Arts
“Produced by The Open University, a world leader in open and distance learning, all OpenLearn courses are free to study. We offer nearly 1000 free courses across 8 different subject areas. Our courses are available to start right away.”—from the website
Saylor Academy--History
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”
Yale Open Courses*--History
“The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.”—from the website
Future Learn - Education
“Learn 100% online with world class universities and industry experts. Develop hobbies, new skills and career-changing expertise with our flexible courses.”—from the website
Preprints
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
Bloomsbury Open Access--History
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
DigitalCultureBooks (University of Michigan Press/Library)--History
"Digitalculturebooks content is available to view for free online and for purchase in print and ebook format. Our titles are typically produced under an Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Creative Commons (CC) License, which allows for specific, noncommercial use. So as long as you attribute your use properly and follow the terms of the Creative Commons license, you don’t need to contact us for permission to use these works (although we would love to hear about what you’re doing, or if you have suggestions for other scholarly information to include on the site) .”—from the website
Directory of Open Access Books--History
“DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
Open Textbooks—History
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
OAPEN History
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Wikibooks History M*
“Books on this shelf deal with biology: the science that studies living organisms. More specifically, it examines the structure, function, growth, origin, evolution, distribution, and classification of all living things.”—from the website
Annenberg Learner--
"As part of its mission to advance excellent teaching in American schools, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home, with videos that exemplify excellent teaching. Annenberg Learner also partners with impactful organizations to provide other means of achieving this goal. As part of the Annenberg Foundation, Learner supports the Foundation’s mission to encourage the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.”—from the website
CK12
CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to high quality educational materials for K-12 students all over the world. We offer free high-quality, standards-aligned, open content in the STEM subjects. By providing these free resources, CK-12 is working toward educational equity for all.
Crash Course—European History, History of Science, US History, World History, World History II
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube! From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
Creative Commons
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
The Study of Spanish-Speaking People of Texas
This collection of photographs includes images of the many poignant, proud, exasperating, joyful, and intimate moments in the lives of people in these Mexican-American communities at a very specific point in time.
TED Talks--History*“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
University Videos
This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities. Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers. User Benefits: there are four main user-enhancement features to watch for:
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website
Civil Rights History Project
"On May 12, 2009, the U. S. Congress authorized a national initiative by passing The Civil Rights History Project Act of 2009 (Public Law 111-19). The law directed the Library of Congress (LOC) and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture (NMAAHC) to conduct a national survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record and make widely accessible new interviews with people who participated in the struggle. The project was initiated in 2010 with the survey and with interviews beginning in 2011."--from the website
Digital Public Library of America - Exhibits
"Stories of national significance drawn from source materials in libraries, archives, and museums across the United States."--from the website.
Experiencing War
For the past year, we have celebrated 20 years of preserving the stories of American veterans. While we are honored to archive every submission, there are particular collections that catch our eye, engage our minds, or touch our hearts, and sometimes do all three. Since 2000, our staff has worked to ensure that these narratives—and all of those in our archive—are preserved and made accessible for generations to come. As part of our anniversary celebration, we asked staff from the American Folklore Center and the Veterans History Project to select collections that resonate on a personal level. We share some of these collections here, and we hope you connect with them as much as we do."--from the website
HathiTrust
"Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests."--from the website
Historical Worldwide Newspapers Online: Latin America
"A guide to free Internet sources of historical newspapers."--from the website
History Net
"HistoryNet.com is brought to you by HistoryNet LLC, the world’s largest publisher of history magazines. HistoryNet.com contains daily features, photo galleries and over 5,000 articles originally published in our nine magazines. Search our archives for information on a specific history subject."--from the website.
Internet Archive: Digital Library
"The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, the print disabled, and the general public. Our mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge."--from the website
Internet Sites with Primary Resources for History: Latin America
A series of pages with links to Internet sites that include historical primary sources.
The Library of Congress - American Memory
"Search millions of items in many formats and languages. Explore a growing treasury of digitized materials. Consult with staff online or in one of the research centers to find what you're looking for.
Memrise - History
"An easy way to learn History online for free. Learn International & Economic History; European & American History and much more through this very simple course. Multiple Choice Tests. Thanks to Mem creators, Contributors & Users."--from the website
Perseus Collection - 19th Century American
"Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world. For the mission of Perseus and its current research, see here.."--from the website
Project Gutenberg - History
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks. Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
Khan Academy History *
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
Lumen Learning *—US History
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware--History*“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
Library of Congress—History
“The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.”—from the website
OASIS--History*“Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. .”—from the website
Saylor Academy *
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”—from the website
The American Yawp
“A Massively Collaborative Open U.S. History Textbook.”—from the website
Lacli (Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian Online Free E-Resources)
LACLI is a collective effort to create a warehouse of online free e-resources with Latin American, Caribbean, U.S. Latinx, and Iberian full content. This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Anyone could reuse LACLI to create their own guides or any other material for non-commercial purposes. This is a Latin America Northeast Libraries Consortium (LANE) project. For more information on project members, visit our About Us page.
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP)
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project (LARRP) is a consortium of research libraries that seeks to increase free and open access to information in support of learning and scholarship in Latin American Studies. It mobilizes collaborative activities among individuals and organizations on a global scale but focuses on relationships within the academic library community.
DOAJ *“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
Georgia Knowledge Repository *Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) is a central metadata repository containing records from participating GALILEO institutions that can be freely searched by the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large”—from the website
JURN
“Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.”—from the website
Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |