arXiv --Mathematics, Statistics
“A curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. As a pioneer in digital open access, arXiv.org now hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas, curated by our strong community of volunteer moderators.”—from the website
Applied Math & Science Education Repository - Mathematics
“AMSER (the Applied Math and Science Education Repository) is a portal of educational resources and services built specifically for use by those in Community and Technical Colleges but free for anyone to use. AMSER is funded by the National Science Foundation (NSF) as part of the National Science Digital Library, and is being created by a team of project partners led by Internet Scout.”—from the website
HippoCampusM –Arithmetic, Algebra and Geometry, Calculus & Advanced Math, Statistics and Probability
“HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animation, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors.”—from the website
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M* --Mathematics
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
Merlot System M*-- Mathematics and Statistics
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
National Science Digital Library— --Mathematics
“The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.”—from the website
OER Commons* --Mathematics
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
Open Culture -- Math Courses
“Get free courses online from the world’s leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player. For more online courses, visit our complete collection.”—from the website
Skills Commons--Mathematics
“The US Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program created a free and open online library called SkillsCommons containing free and open learning materials and program support materials for job-driven workforce development. The $1.9 billion investment by the US Department of Labor produced a comprehensive collection of workforce-related Open Educational Resources (OER) created by over 700 community colleges across the nation. The OER can be found, reused, revised, retained, redistributed and remixed by an individual, institution, and industry for FREE with the proper attribution to the original author of the resources.”—from the website
The Teaching Commons M*
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
Class Central M* —Mathematics Courses
“Class Central is a search engine and reviews site for free online courses popularly known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.”—from the website
Coursera M*—Math and Logic
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX M*--Mathematics
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
Ohio Open Ed Collaborative
Faculty teams representing Ohio's 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities, both public and private, put these guides together to present alternatives to commercial textbooks for Ohio students. Full course guides using OER materials are available for many of Ohio's high enrollment courses. They can be adopted in full or in part to meet the needs of course instructors. The courses have been divided into modules that meet the objectives of the Ohio Department of Higher Education's Transfer Assurance Guides (TAGs) and Ohio Transfer Module (OTM) guidelines.
OpenLearn - -- Science, Maths & Technology
“Welcome to OpenLearn - the home of free learning from The Open University. Are you looking for a new topic to explore, or want to dig deeper into something you've already discovered? Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free.”—from the website
Saylor Academy* --Mathematics
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”—from the website
GeoGebra Math Apps
"Free digital tools for class activities, graphing, geometry, collaborative whiteboard and more.”—from the website
Detexify
Anyone who works with LaTeX knows how time-consuming it can be to find a symbol in symbols-a4.pdf that you just can't memorize. Detexify is an attempt to simplify this search. Lucky you. The Mac app is finally stable enough. See how it works on Vimeo. Download the latest version here.”—from the website
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
arXiv
“arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,891,879 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.”—from the website
bioRxiv
“bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.”—from the website
DOE (Department of Energy) Pages
“The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) is the DOE discovery tool, developed by the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), that makes peer-reviewed scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE research funding publicly accessible.”—from the website
Open Science (OSF) Preprints
“For COS to achieve our mission, we must drive change in the culture and incentives that drive researchers’ behavior, the infrastructure that supports their research, and the business models that dominate scholarly communication.”—from the website
Preprints
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
American Institute of Mathematics Approved Textbooks
“To advance mathematical knowledge through collaboration, to broaden participation in the mathematical endeavor, and to increase the awareness of the contributions of the mathematical sciences to society.”—from the website
Bloomsbury Open Access-- Mathematics
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) -- "Mathematics & science"
“DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
InTechOpen Mathematics
inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website
OAPEN --Mathematics
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Open Textbooks Mathematics
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
WikibooksM* Mathematics
“Welcome to Wikibooks, the open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit. 3,204 books with 89,061 pages..”—from the website Para notas en espanol oprima aqui.
Annenberg Learner--Mathematics
“As part of its mission to advance excellent teaching in American schools, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home, with videos that exemplify excellent teaching. Annenberg Learner also partners with impactful organizations to provide other means of achieving this goal. As part of the Annenberg Foundation, Learner supports the Foundation’s mission to encourage the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.”—from the website
CK12--
"CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to high quality educational materials for K-12 students all over the world. We offer free high-quality, standards-aligned, open content in the STEM subjects. By providing these free resources, CK-12 is working toward educational equity for all.”—from the website
Crash Course --
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube! From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
Creative Commons
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
EdReady
“EdReady™ can be used to check mastery in a course of study, to plan for college and career opportunities, and to prepare for commonly used placement exams, such as AccuPlacer, SAT, and ACT. High school and GED students, homeschoolers, and adult learners will benefit from EdReady.org.”—from the website
Language of Algebra
Vimeo videos from CK-12 Foundation
Interactivate
“Interactivate is a set of free, online courseware for exploration in science and mathematics. It is comprised of activities, lessons, and discussions.”—from the website
Mathantics
“In 2008 two long-time friends, Rob and Jeremy, began dabbling in math video production. At the time, Jeremy was involved with homeschooling his children and was having trouble finding math resources that were simple, effective and highly engaging. He and Rob had a history of working together on various projects, so they put their heads together in hopes of developing a math video format that would meet all those requirements. After a lot of trial and error, they eventually decided that the key was to ‘animate’ math so it would actually ‘come to life’ for students. They also realized that adding a little bit of humor could go a long way towards making math more enjoyable. In short, the idea for a video series called “Math Antics” was born.”—from the website
Mathispower4u Tutorials
“This site provides over 7,000 free mini-lessons and example videos. All of the videos are closed captioned and ADA compliant. The videos are organized by course and topic. You can browse the video by course and topic on this site. Just click on the course to the left. The tabs above are now duplicates of the links on the left. To search for a specific video it is recommended to search the Mathispower4u YouTube Channel or the Mathispower4u blog.”—from the website
MIT Blossoms
“BLOSSOMS video lessons are enriching students' learning experiences in high school classrooms from Brooklyn to Beirut to Bangalore. Our Video Library contains over 100 math and science lessons, all freely available to teachers as streaming video and Internet downloads and as DVDs and videotapes.”—from the website
Numberphile
“Numberphile is produced by video journalist Brady Haran. The stars of the show include mathematicians and other guests from around the world. Topics range from the sublime to the ridiculous… from historic discoveries to latest breakthroughs. In addition to hundreds of videos, we also have a new podcast of longer-form interviews. The project is supported by (and often filmed at) the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute.”—from the website
Open Curriculum--Mathematics
“We are dreamers. We believe that absolutely nothing should stop new ideas in teaching and learning from entering the classrooms of tomorrow. We are convinced that a powerful and open medium to share good curriculum is essential to improving K-12 education systems that serve the needs of the individual and society.”—from the website
TED Talks -- --Mathematics
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
University Videos
"This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities. Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers. User Benefits: there are four main user-enhancement features to watch for:
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website
WeBWorK
“WeBWorK is an open-source online homework system for math and science courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems. Problems in the NPL target most lower division undergraduate math courses and some advanced courses. Supported courses include college algebra, discrete mathematics, probability and statistics, single and multivariable calculus, differential equations, linear algebra and complex analysis.”—from the website
That Quiz
“ThatQuiz is a free testing service for teachers to use with their classes. Multiple choice tests and math tests can be administered to students using this website. All grades are immediately reported to the students. Teachers receive complete record keeping of test results, including all grades and wrong answers.”—from the website
Math Study Skills Self-Survey
“This study skills survey is designed to help you review your current study habits and perhaps learn new ones. The survey has thirty-three statements divided into five categories. For each statement, choose the response that is closest to your current practices and attitudes. After answering each statement, click the "Get My Grade!" button to see how you did.”—from the website
MyOpenMath—For Instructors
“MyOpenMath is designed for mathematics, providing delivery of homework, quizzes, and tests with rich mathematical content. Students can receive immediate feedback on algorithmically generated questions with numerical or algebraic expression answers. And it can do so much more, providing a full course management system, including file posting, discussion forums, and a full gradebook, all designed with mathematics in mind.”—from the website
Purplemath
“This study skills survey is designed to help you review your current study habits and perhaps learn new ones. The survey has thirty-three statements divided into five categories. For each statement, choose the response that is closest to your current practices and attitudes. After answering each statement, click the "Get My Grade!" button to see how you did.”—from the website
eMathHelp
“Free online resource for high school and college students, teachers, parents, and people who want to refresh their knowledge in math. This is a perfect study site to get help to do your homework, prepare for a test, or just refresh your memory, etc.”—from the website
Virtual Math Lab
“If you need help in College Algebra, Intermediate Algebra, Beginning Algebra, Math for the Sciences, or preparing for the math part of the general GRE, THEA or ACCUPLACER test, you have come to the right place. Note that you do not have to be a student at WTAMU to use any of these online tutorials. They were created as a free service to anyone who needs help in these areas of math.”—from the website
WeBWorK
“WeBWorK is an open-source online homework system for math and science courses. WeBWorK is supported by the MAA and the NSF and comes with a National Problem Library (NPL) of over 20,000 homework problems. Problems in the NPL target most lower division undergraduate math courses and some advanced courses. Supported courses include college algebra, discrete mathematics, probability and statistics, single and multivariable calculus, differential equations, linear algebra and complex analysis.”—from the website
Wolfram Mathworld
“MathWorldTMis the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
MathWorld has been assembled over more than a decade by Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from thousands of contributors. Since its contents first appeared online in 1995, MathWorld has emerged as a nexus of mathematical information in both the mathematics and educational communities. It not only reaches millions of readers from all continents of the globe, but also serves as a clearinghouse for new mathematical discoveries that are routinely contributed by researchers. Its entries are extensively referenced in journals and books spanning all educational levels, including those read by researchers, elementary school students and teachers, engineers, and hobbyists.”—from the website
Academic Earth--Mathematics
“Students who decide to enter college to pursue history might feel overwhelmed by the broadness of it all, as there is so much potential time and information to digest. Luckily, most programs require students to choose a specialty, so they can focus on a particular era, region or group of people during their studies.”—from the website
Algebra2go®
“Welcome to Algebra2go®. Whether you are attending a math class at Saddleback College, taking a math class at another school, or just need to refresh your math skills for a business or science class, we have tools that can help. All these resources are free thanks to the support of Saddleback College, the California Basic Skills Initiative, and the Saddleback College Foundation. We have many distinct categories of resources.”—from the website
CK12--FlexMath
“CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to high quality educational materials for K-12 students all over the world. We offer free high-quality, standards-aligned, open content in the STEM subjects. By providing these free resources, CK-12 is working toward educational equity for all.”—from the website
Khan Academy*--Math
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
Lumen Learning*— Mathematics
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website
LibreTexts M*--Mathematics
“The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.”—from the website
OASIS* --Mathematics:
“Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. .”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware* Mathematics
“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
National Science Foundation (NSF)-- Mathematical and Physical Sciences (MPS)
“The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." NSF is vital because we support basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future.”—from the website
Saylor Academy*
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”—from the website
University of Massachusetts -Boston – OpenCourseWare --Mathematics
“The goals are to:
PhET --Mathematics
“PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations. We extensively test and evaluate each simulation to ensure educational effectiveness. These tests include student interviews and observation of simulation use in classrooms. The simulations are written in Java, Flash or HTML5, and can be run online or downloaded to your computer. All simulations are open source (see our source code). Multiple sponsors support the PhET project, enabling these resources to be free to all students and teachers.”—from the website
Shodor Interactivate
"The goals of Interactivate are the creation, collection, evaluation, and dissemination of interactive courseware for exploration in science and mathematics."
Scottsdale Community College – Math Blog
"A resource for math faculty and students at SCC.”—from the website
ATE Central
“With an emphasis on two-year colleges, the National Science Foundation's ATE (Advanced Technological Education) program focuses on the education of technicians for the high-technology fields that drive our nation's economy.”—from the website
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
DOAJ*
“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
Georgia Knowledge Repository*
Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) is a central metadata repository containing records from participating GALILEO institutions that can be freely searched by the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large”—from the website
JURN
“Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
SPARC
“SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) works to enable the open sharing of research outputs and educational materials in order to democratize access to knowledge, accelerate discovery, and increase the return on our investment in research and education.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |