Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M*
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
Merlot System M*
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
OER Commons *
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
Open Culture
“Get free courses online from the world’s leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player. For more online courses, visit our complete collection.”—from the website
Open Science (OSF) Preprints (M)
“For COS to achieve our mission, we must drive change in the culture and incentives that drive researchers’ behavior, the infrastructure that supports their research, and the business models that dominate scholarly communication.”—from the website
Preprints –Behavioral Sciences
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
Academic Earth -- Psychology
“Students who decide to enter college to pursue history might feel overwhelmed by the broadness of it all, as there is so much potential time and information to digest. Luckily, most programs require students to choose a specialty, so they can focus on a particular era, region or group of people during their studies.”—from the website
Khan Academy *
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
University Of Massachusetts -Boston – Opencourseware--Counseling and School Psychology
“The goals are to:
The National Science Foundation (NSF)-- Directorate for Social, Behavioral and Economic Sciences
“The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." NSF is vital because we support basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future.”—from the website
LibreTexts M*—Social Sceince
“The LibreTexts mission is to unite students, faculty and scholars in a cooperative effort to develop an easy-to-use online platform for the construction, customization, and dissemination of open educational resources (OER) to reduce the burdens of unreasonable textbook costs to our students and society.”—from the website
OASIS *
“Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. .”—from the website
Bloomsbury Open Access
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
Directory of Open Access Books DOAB)
“DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
InTechOpen
inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP) --Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
“The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
OAPEN
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Open Textbooks -- Psychology
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Wikibooks M* --Psychology
“Welcome to Wikibooks, the open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit. 3,204 books with 89,061 pages..”—from the website
Crash Course -- Psychology
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube! From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
Creative Commons
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
Great Ideas in Psychology Podcast
“The field of psychology - the study of what it means to be human - is a fascinating scientific inquiry into the behaviors and mental processes of human beings. You are invited to explore topics like consciousness, memory, sensation, perception, cognition, motivation, and personality. This entertaining and informative presentation is based upon a college-level Introduction to Psychology course and is intended for people who want to better understand themselves and the world around them.”—from the website
The Psych Files Podcast
“The Psych Files is a podcast for anyone who wonders why we do what we do. Experienced educator Michael Britt, Ph.D., in an upbeat and friendly style, shows you how ideas from the field of psychology apply to everyday life. If you are a life-long learner, a student or a teacher, you will find his 20-30 minute episodes enjoyable and educational.”—from the website
TED Talks* -- Psychology
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
University Videos
“This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities.
Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers.
You really have to give this a try! WHAT TO LOOK FOR
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”— from the website
Faculty of 1000
“F1000Research is an Open Research publishing platform for scientists, scholars and clinicians offering rapid publication of articles and other research outputs without editorial bias. All articles benefit from transparent peer review and editorial guidance on making all source data openly available.”—from the website
Center for Open Science (COS)
"Our mission is to increase openness, integrity, and reproducibility of research. For COS to achieve our mission, we must drive change in the culture and incentives that drive researchers’ behavior, the infrastructure that supports their research, and the business models that dominate scholarly communication.”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
Bloomsbury Open Access
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
InTechOpen
inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP) --Division of Behavioral and Social Sciences and Education
“The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
OAPEN
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Class Central M*—Psychology
“Class Central is a search engine and reviews site for free online courses popularly known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.”—from the website
Coursera M*
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX M*
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
Future Learn --
“FutureLearn courses are divided into weeks. These contain various activities that you should aim to complete within the week, each one built from a sequence of straightforward steps, to help you learn. Each week is given a descriptive name, so you always know what’s expected, and you can even navigate between them, to see what’s coming up, or catch up from the beginning if you’re late starting.”—from the website
Lumen*
MIT Open Courseware*--Psychology
OpenLearn
“Welcome to OpenLearn - the home of free learning from The Open University. Are you looking for a new topic to explore, or want to dig deeper into something you've already discovered? Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free.”—from the website
NOBA Project
“The goals of Noba are three-fold: To reduce financial burden on students by providing access to free educational content. To provide instructors with a platform to customize educational content to better suit their curriculum. To present free, high-quality material written by a collection of experts and authorities in the field of psychology.”—from the website
Ohio Open Ed Collaborative
“Faculty teams representing Ohio's 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities, both public and private, put these guides together to present alternatives to commercial textbooks for Ohio students. Full course guides using OER materials are available for many of Ohio's high enrollment courses. They can be adopted in full or in part to meet the needs of course instructors. The courses have been divided into modules that meet the objectives of the Ohio Department of Higher Education's Transfer Assurance Guides (TAGs) and Ohio Transfer Module (OTM) guidelines.”—from the website
Yale Open Courses*
“The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.”—from the website.”—from the website
Saylor Academy* --Psychology
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |
