AMSER
“Materials in the Applied Math and Science Educational Repository are free for use and adaptation. Most resources are at the high school and community college levels.”—from the website
arXiv
“A curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. As a pioneer in digital open access, arXiv.org now hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas, curated by our strong community of volunteer moderators.”—from the website
Community of Online Research Assignments
“Open resource for faculty and librarians about Research Assignments. A research assignment is anything that requires students to engage with information resources in a critical or reflective way. This most often includes finding, retrieving, analyzing and evaluating, using and integrating, or organizing the information in order to produce new knowledge. .”—from the website
Curriki
Open educational materials for K-12.”—from the website
Edsitement!
“Learning objects and lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It offers a large collection of peer evaluated websites.”—from the website
HippoCampus M
“HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animation, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors.”—from the website
Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M*
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
Merlot System M*
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
National Science Digital Library—
“The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.”—from the website
Open Michigan
“Make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. We are the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.”—from the website
OER Commons*
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
Open Culture
“Get free courses online from the world’s leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player. For more online courses, visit our complete collection.”—from the website
Scitable by Nature Education
“Educators: Inspire your undergraduate and high-school AP biology students with resources on genetics and cell biology from Nature Publishing Group, home of Nature, the most cited scientific journal in the world.”—from the website
The Teaching Commons M*
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.
Quantitative Undergraduate Biology Education and Synthesis (QUBES)
“This repository contains learning materials, software, data, and models for teaching quantitative skills in undergraduate biology courses. QUBES is developed in part by faculty at the University of Pittsburgh. .”—from the website
Atlas of Plant and Animal Histology
“This is a website project dealing with cell biology, histology and organs, both in plant and animals. Our main goal is to provide texts and images that may help students and other people interested in these subjects.”—from the website
Annenberg Learner--
“As part of its mission to advance excellent teaching in American schools, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home, with videos that exemplify excellent teaching. Annenberg Learner also partners with impactful organizations to provide other means of achieving this goal. As part of the Annenberg Foundation, Learner supports the Foundation’s mission to encourage the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.”—from the website
CK12--
“CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to high quality educational materials for K-12 students all over the world. We offer free high-quality, standards-aligned, open content in the STEM subjects. By providing these free resources, CK-12 is working toward educational equity for all.”—from the website
Crash Course --
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube! From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
Creative Commons
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
JHSPH OpenCourseWare
“JHSPH OCW is a collection of the course materials that support a JHSPH education. Educators are encouraged to use the materials for curriculum and lecture development, students can augment their current learning by making use of the materials offered, and independent learners are encouraged to draw upon the JHSPH OCW for personal enrichment and study. Course materials offered on the JHSPH OCW website may be used, copied, distributed, translated and modified under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike license.”—from the website
Nova*
“NOVA is the most-watched prime time science series on American television, reaching an average of five million viewers weekly. Now in its fifth decade of production, the series remains committed to producing in-depth science programming in the form of one-hour documentaries and long-form mini-series, from the latest breakthroughs in technology to the deepest mysteries of the natural world.”—from the website
TED Talks *
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
University of Oxford- Faculty of Physics Podcasts
Physics at Oxford aspire to be one of the best physics departments in the world by conducting cutting-edge research and by teaching and developing the careers of the next generation of physicists.
Physics work on major facilities worldwide, develop the most advanced experimental techniques and the most sophisticated theoretical methods to investigate nature at every scale.”—from the website
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)“
"A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website
University Videos
“This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities. Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers. User Benefits: there are four main user-enhancement features to watch for:
Class Central M*
“Class Central is a search engine and reviews site for free online courses popularly known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.”—from the website
Coursera M*
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX M*
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
Future Learn
Ohio Open Ed Collaborative
“Faculty teams representing Ohio's 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities, both public and private, put these guides together to present alternatives to commercial textbooks for Ohio students. Full course guides using OER materials are available for many of Ohio's high enrollment courses. They can be adopted in full or in part to meet the needs of course instructors. The courses have been divided into modules that meet the objectives of the Ohio Department of Higher Education's Transfer Assurance Guides (TAGs) and Ohio Transfer Module (OTM) guidelines.”—from the website
OpenLearn
“Welcome to OpenLearn - the home of free learning from The Open University. Are you looking for a new topic to explore, or want to dig deeper into something you've already discovered? Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free.”—from the website
Saylor Academy*
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”—from the website
Yale Open Courses *
“The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.”—from the website.”—from the website
Bloomsbury Open Access
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
InTechOpen
inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP)
“The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
OAPEN
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
OpenStax
“Free textbooks. Low-cost technology. Support every step of the way.”—from the website
Open Textbooks
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Wikibooks M*
“Welcome to Wikibooks, the open-content textbooks collection that anyone can edit. 3,204 books with 89,061 pages..”—from the website
PhET Interactive Simulations
“Founded in 2002 by Nobel Laureate Carl Wieman, the PhET Interactive Simulations project at the University of Colorado Boulder creates free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.”—from the website
Virtual Cell Animation
“This collection has been developed to introduce students to new concepts. By walking through the still images and movie included for each topic, viewers are in control of choosing the learning style that best fits their needs.”—from the website
Web Adventures
“As a service to the community, the Rice University School Mathematics Project (RUSMP) is hosting Web Adventures which was created by the Center for Technology in Teaching and Learning (CTTL). The mission of CTTL was to undertake research that makes technologies for learning more productive, accessible, and engaging, especially through the use of games in science and health education. Unfortunately, RUSMP will not be able to provide technical support for the site.”—from the website
XVIVO Scientific Animation
“XVIVO is the premier creator of medical animation and scientific media. Our studio develops 3D animations, educational videos, medical illustrations, interactive science apps, cell animations, interactive VR animations, and more. Our clients include pharmaceutical and biotech companies, medical device companies, advertising agencies, educational institutions, museums, and broadcast. With in-house scientific expertise and artists specializing in medical media, we translate complex information into productions that are both accurate and visually compelling. Our showreel displays some of our most recent work.”—from the website
Association for Biology Laboratory Education (ABLE)
“Founded in 1979 to promote information exchange among university and college educators actively concerned with teaching biology in a laboratory setting. The focus of ABLE is to improve the undergraduate biology laboratory experience by promoting the development and dissemination of interesting, innovative, and reliable laboratory exercises.”—from the website
"In the spirit of remixing and redistribution, the entire WordPress site can be downloaded from GitHub as well as customized imagery (https://github.com/jeremyseto/bio-oer) .”—from the website
Moving Science Labs Online
“To get started, review these recent articles and video to consider general tips, procedures, pros and cons, etc.”—from the website
NANSLO: North American Network of Science Labs Online
"NANSLO provided students access to real science laboratories through an online interface to scientific equipment, enabling them to conduct tasks and collect data for assigned lab activities. Supported by a live lab technician and bolstered by teleconference and video streaming capabilities, NANSLO facilitated cross-institutional collaboration among student teams and gave them access to scientific processes, insights, and equipment not physically available to them."--from the website
Open Science Laboratory
“This online laboratory brings interactive practical science to students anywhere and anytime the internet is available. The laboratory features investigations based on on-screen instruments, remote access experiments and virtual scenarios using real data. Several activities are available to all, while others are available only to registered users.”—from the website
ViBE: Virtual Biology Experiments
“The virtual laboratories enhance learning experiences by providing the student with a supplement to the physical lab. The laboratories allow students to perform exercises as in an actual lab and to gather data for preparing lab reports. To increase student's engagement and interest, they are allowed to make errors and take wrong directions, and then backtrack to correctly perform the exercise. The architecture of the system is modular and can be easily extended to implement different laboratories and it supports augmentation by animation effects and realistic rendering of virtual objects. Most of the system components, including all the virtual labs, are implemented as Java Beans. The software framework is lightweight and can be downloaded as an applet in a browser. Extensible Markup Language (XML) is used for application and data description; students can save their lab reports in XML and review them later. To demonstrate the potential of the architecture, we have developed several virtual laboratories for cell division, centrifugation, spectrophotometry, and virtual microscopy.”—from the website
Virtual Biology Lab
“A free, online educational resource provided for educational purposes. VBL simulates natural environments with the way life responds to changing conditions. We provide a world to be explored rather than a path to be followed. Background information and technical instruction help students learn by experimentation. Parameters and conditions adjust easily for observable effects and consequences.”—from the website.
Virtual and Remote Lab Resources
"Virtual Labs: In these labs, real experiments are virtualized or simulated and students can access them online.
Remote Labs: These types of labs enable faculty and students to access equipment and/or computers via the internet to perform experiments and laboratory tasks without being in the physical lab space."--from the website
Academic Earth
“Academic Earth was launched on the premise that everyone deserves access to a world-class education. In 2009, we built the first collection of free online college courses from the world’s top universities. The world of open education has exploded since then, so today our curated lists of online courses are hand selected by our staff to show you the very best offerings by subject area. We also make sure there is something for everyone: whether you want to explore a new topic or advance in your current field, we bring the amazing world of academia to you for free.”—from the website
Chemistry Education Resources
“From lesson plans and classroom activities to textbooks and multimedia, ACS has a wide variety of chemistry education resources to meet your needs.”—from the website
ChemCollective - Carnegie Mellon
“The ChemCollective is a collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests. Teachers can use our content for pre-labs, for alternatives to textbook homework, and for in-class activities for individuals or teams. Students can review and learn chemistry concepts using our virtual labs, simulations, and tutorials.”—from the website
Chemistry Learning Center
“The Chemistry Learning Center (CLC) is a centralized location where all undergraduates enrolled in general chemistry can receive help with homework, meet with teaching assistants and connect with other students taking the same courses.”—from the website
comPADRE
“ComPADRE is the Digital Library for the educational resources used by educators, researchers, and students in physics and astronomy. This service of the American Association of Physics Teachers is designed to help teachers and learners find, and use, high quality resources through web-based collections and services tailored to their specific needs.”—from the website
Environmental Policy Commons
“The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.”—from the website
LearnChemE
“Educational Resources for Chemical Engineering from Colorado Boulder. Includes screencasts, simulations, and other resources.”—from the website
Khan Academy*
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
Lumen Learning *
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware*
“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
NanoHUB
“nanoHUB.org is the premier place for computational nanotechnology research, education, and collaboration. Our site hosts a rapidly growing collection of Simulation Programs for nanoscale phenomena that run in the cloud and are accessible through a web browser. nanoHUB also provides a vast array of resources that help users learn about our simulation programs and about nanotechnology in general. We offer a venue to explore, collaborate, and publish new content.”—from the website.
Physics Classroom
“We've had a phrase in our heads for a long time that sums up our mission: "serving students, teachers and classrooms." Every resource on our website has been fueled by the passion to put a tool in the hands of a student or a teacher to help them more effectively learn or teach physics. During this COVID19 pandemic, The Physics Classroom has numerous tools to address the distance learning needs of students, teachers, and "classrooms". We believe that the resources described below will be your best resources during this transition from classroom teaching to distance learning.”—from the website
PubChem
“PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. Since the launch in 2004, PubChem has become a key chemical information resource for scientists, students, and the general public. Each month our website and programmatic services provide data to several million users worldwide.”—from the website
Organic Structure Elucidation - Notre Dame
“This online workbook has been developed for senior undergraduate and graduate students learning to solve the structures of organic compounds from spectroscopic data. Most problems contain an IR spectrum (film or KBr pellet), a 500 MHz 1H NMR spectrum, a 125 MHz 13C NMR spectrum, and a 70 eV electron ionization Mass Spectrum. In the 1H NMR spectra, the phrase "exchanges" means that shaking the NMR solution with D2O resulted in loss of the signal due to H/D exchange.”—from the website
University of Massachusetts -Boston – OpenCourseWare
“The goals are to:
Library of Congress
“The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.”—from the website
Wolfram Demonstrations Project
“Conceived by Mathematica creator and scientist Stephen Wolfram as a way to bring computational exploration to the widest possible audience, the Wolfram Demonstrations Project is an open-code resource that uses dynamic computation to illuminate concepts in science, technology, mathematics, art, finance, and a remarkable range of other fields.”—from the website
The National Science Foundation (NSF)
“The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense..." NSF is vital because we support basic research and people to create knowledge that transforms the future.”—from the website
OASIS*
“Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. .”—from the website
DataOne
“Founded in 2009, DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |