Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Heritage University OER (Open Access Resources): Education

New LibGuide for OER (Open Access Resources)

OER Logo

Major Repositories

                              The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M*“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website

                            The Merlot System
 M“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.” —from the website



National Science Digital Library

“The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.”—from the website

                             
OER Commons
*
The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation. 


                             The Teaching Commons M*
The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.

Open Online Courses


Class Central
 
M*“Class Central is a search engine and reviews site for free online courses popularly known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.”—from the website


                              Coursera M*“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website

                            edX M*“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:  Increase access to high-quality education for everyone, everywhere.  Enhance teaching and learning on campus and online.  Advance teaching and learning through research.”—from the website
 

                              Future Learn - Education
“Learn 100% online with world class universities and industry experts. Develop hobbies, new skills and career-changing expertise with our flexible courses.”—from the website

Learning Classroom: Theory Into Practice
“Explore learning theories and how these ideas apply to classroom practice in this video course for K-12 teachers.”—from the website


                               MIT Open CourseWare*“The idea is simple: to publish all of our course materials online and make them widely available to everyone.” Dick K.P. Yue, Professor, MIT School of Engineering.”—from the website


  Open Culture
“Take online courses from the world’s top universities for free. Below, you will find 1,700 free online courses from universities like Yale, MIT, Harvard, Oxford and more.  You can use this collection of online courses to learn everything you want–from history, philosophy and literature, to physics, biology, psychology, and computer science.”—from the website

                              Open Learn—Education & Development
“Produced by The Open University, a world leader in open and distance learning, all OpenLearn courses are free to study. We offer nearly 1000 free courses across 8 different subject areas. Our courses are available to start right away.”—from the website

Ohio Open Ed Collaborative
Faculty teams representing Ohio's 2-year and 4-year colleges and universities, both public and private, put these guides together to present alternatives to commercial textbooks for Ohio students. Full course guides using OER materials are available for many of Ohio's high enrollment courses. They can be adopted in full or in part to meet the needs of course instructors. The courses have been divided into modules that meet the objectives of the Ohio Department of Higher Education's Transfer Assurance Guides (TAGs) and Ohio Transfer Module (OTM) guidelines.

University of Massachusetts -Boston - OpenCourseWare
“The goals are to: Provide free, searchable, access to course materials for educators, students, and self-learners around the world. Catalyze the growth of communities of learners.  Extend the reach and impact of the OpenCourseWare concept.”

Utah State OpenCoursewWare
“The purpose of this repository is to archive and provides open access to the scholarly works, research, reports, publications, teaching materials, workshops, and lectures produced by USU faculty, staff, students, and organizations.”

Advanced Google Search & OER

Textbook Collections

   Bookboon.com
“Free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, all on one easy-to-use online ebook platform.”—from the website

                            National Academies Press (NAP)

“The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
Open Textbook Library
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website 

                            OAPEN 

“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation."  from the website


Open TextbookBC
    

This support resource lists a broad range of open educational resources (OER) organized by discipline. OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that, through permissions granted by the copyright holder, allow others to use, distribute, keep, or make changes to them."--from the website
 

 
 

Courseware

Discovery Education
“We are the stewards of a robust collection of more than 200,000 multimodal content resources designed to bring the real world to students around the globe. As a part of the larger academic team at Discovery Education, we focus on producing, selecting, and curating best-in-class digital content to help educators achieve K-12 instructional goals; to inspire student curiosity and agency; and to reflect the diversity of the audience we serve.” –from the website

EDSITEment!
“Driving excellence in humanities education.” –from the website

 

Education World
“Education World is a complete online resource that teachers, administrators and school staff can visit each day to find high-quality and in-depth original content. We update the site daily.” –from the website

 

  Edutopia
“Our Foundation is dedicated to transforming K-12 education so that all students can acquire and effectively apply the knowledge, attitudes, and skills necessary to thrive in their studies, careers, and adult lives.” –from the website

Great Minds
"A group of education leaders founded the non-profit Great Minds in 2008 to define and encourage content-rich comprehensive education for all American schoolchildren.” –from the website

 

K-12 Blueprint

Helping you transform learning— a collection of papers, resources, and guidebooks developed for educators and administrators leading the way into the future of education.
 

Learning A - Z
Learning A-Z provides literacy-focused PreK-6 resources for instruction and practice.


                             
Khan Academy
 *
"Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!" -- from the website

Learn Zillion
“The idea for LearnZillion began at E.L. Haynes Public Charter School in Washington, D.C. where co-founder Eric Westendorf, was principal. After watching 6th grade teacher Andrea Smith teach her students what it meant to divide by fractions, Eric wondered, “Could powerful learning experiences be captured so that teachers didn’t have to reinvent the wheel every time they taught a standard?” He decided to find out. Working with Andrea and a few other E.L. Haynes teachers, he created a homemade website that featured screencasts of high quality.”—from the website


                            Library of Congress--Teacher Resources

“The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.”—from the website


                             OASIS * 
“Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. .”—from the website
 
National Archives
National Archives provides resources to help teachers find new and favorite lessons, and create activities for students.

NoRedInk
NoRedInk builds stronger writers through interest-based curriculum, adaptive exercises, and actionable data.

Smithsonian Education
“The Smithsonian Center for Learning and Digital Access (SCLDA) uses all the Smithsonian offers to empower learners to explore their interests and collaborate with others to bring ideas to life.” –from the website

 

Sumdog
“Sumdog is a way for kids to practice math skills while playing fun, math-related games against friends, classmates, or other students from around the world.” –from the website

 

Teaching Tolerance
“Teaching Tolerance provides free resources to educators—teachers, administrators, counselors and other practitioners—who work with children from kindergarten through high school. Educators use our materials to supplement the curriculum, to inform their practices, and to create civil and inclusive school communities where children are respected, valued and welcome participants.” –from the website

Media

Annenberg Learner
"As part of its mission to advance excellent teaching in American schools, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home, with videos that exemplify excellent teaching. Annenberg Learner also partners with impactful organizations to provide other means of achieving this goal. As part of the Annenberg Foundation, Learner supports the Foundation’s mission to encourage the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.”—from the website
CK12 

"CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to high quality educational materials for K-12 students all over the world. We offer free high-quality, standards-aligned, open content in the STEM subjects. By providing these free resources, CK-12 is working toward educational equity for all.”—from the website

Crash Course 
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube!  From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
Creative Commons

“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website 
                            TED Talks
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
PBS Learning Media
WLJT and PBS have curated FREE, standards-aligned videos, interactives, lesson plans, and more for teachers like you.

Storyline Online
“The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s Daytime Emmy®-nominated and award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online®, streams videos featuring celebrated actors reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations. Readers include Oprah Winfrey, Chris Pine, Kristen Bell, Rita Moreno, Viola Davis, Jaime Camil, Kevin Costner, Lily Tomlin, Sarah Silverman, Betty White, Wanda Sykes and dozens more”—from the website

University Videos
This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top     Universities.  Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers. 

Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website

Educator Forum

Pedagogy in Action
“The goal of the Pedagogic Service is encourage educators to reflect critically on their own teaching practices and to support them in exploring new pedagogies. Building on a successful model in the geosciences, we have created a library of pedagogic methods and a collection of activities which exemplify each method. The complete library is available through the Pedagogy in Action portal.”—from the website

Share My Lesson
Share My Lesson is a destination for educators who dedicate their time and professional expertise to provide the best education for students everywhere.

Simple K12
Access to discussion forums, classroom resources, eBooks, and more.

Teachers.net
“Teachers.Net was founded in 1995 by San Diego teacher Anthony Bott, who recognized the challenge and opportunity emerging technology posed for educators. He founded Teachers.Net to help teachers harness the brand new World Wide Web and related technologies, and for the last two decades he's worked to further that mission, and keep teachers abreast of the rapidly evolving technology front.”—from the website

 

Learning Platforms

Amazon Education
"Go digital. Study anywhere. Amazon is committed to building effective learning solutions to support educators and students. How can Amazon help you meet your goals?"--From the website

 

Edmodo
Edmodo allows your whole community to learn together from anywhere with all-in-one LMS, communication, collaboration, and Zoom video conferencing tools.


Gooru
Built in collaboration with lab partners in K-12 and other disciplines, and validated by researchers in the science of learning, Navigator is an Integrated learning exchange that enables all stakeholders in the ecosystem to interact and accelerate learning outcomes.

Databases

                            DOAJ*
“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website

FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website

                            Georgia Knowledge Repository
*
Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) is a central metadata repository containing records from participating GALILEO institutions that can be freely searched by the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large.

 

Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website

JURN
“Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.”—from the website

Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website

PrePrints

Open Science (OSF) Preprints
“For COS to achieve our mission, we must drive change in the culture and incentives that drive researchers’ behavior, the infrastructure that supports their research, and the business models that dominate scholarly communication.”—from the website

Preprints

“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.

Fora

Teachers.net
“Teachers.Net was founded in 1995 by San Diego teacher Anthony Bott, who recognized the challenge and opportunity emerging technology posed for educators. He founded Teachers.Net to help teachers harness the brand new World Wide Web and related technologies, and for the last two decades he's worked to further that mission, and keep teachers abreast of the rapidly evolving technology front.”—from the website

Share My Lesson

Share My Lesson is a destination for educators who dedicate their time and professional expertise to provide the best education for students everywhere.

Simple K12
Access to discussion forums, classroom resources, eBooks, and more.

KEY:

M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them.

*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse…