MERLOT Business Administration Materials M*“MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education. This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty. MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.”—from the website
OER Commons* – Business Administration
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
The Teaching Commons M*--Business
“The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.”—from the website
Khan Academy—Finance and Capital Markets* “Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
Lumen Learning
“Lumen Learning’s mission is to enable unprecedented learning for all students. We do this by providing tools and services to support effective teaching and learning practices. We are trying to build more effective learners and more impactful teachers – because both are essential to improve student success.”—from the website
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware--Sloan School of Management* “Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
Aspen Institute
“The Ideas Worth Teaching initiative is designed to draw attention to important new ideas about the role of business in creating a sustainable, inclusive society. We produce a tightly curated, weekly email for business school faculty and others, with the goal of prompting new conversations in the classroom about relationships between corporations, capital markets, and the public good.”—from the website
Patricia K. Cross Academy
“The demanding realm of higher education can be surprisingly low on practical resources. You want your students to succeed, and the K. Patricia Cross Academy is here to help you do just that. As a nonprofit, our content is complimentary, concise, and packed with proven ways to earn measurable results. Best of all, it's anonymous and always free.”—from the website
DOAJ
“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
Georgia Knowledge Repository*The Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) is a central metadata repository containing records from participating GALILEO institutions that can be freely searched by the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large.
Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
JURN
“Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
BC Campus Open Ed--Business
“A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost.”—from the website
College Open Textbooks--Business
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
InTech Business, Management, and Economics Books
inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website
LibreTexts M*--Business
“This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP)--Industry & Labor
“The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
OAPEN—Business & Management
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Openstax--Business
“OpenStax is part of Rice University, which is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit charitable corporation. As an educational initiative, it's our mission to transform learning so that education works for every student.”—from the website
OPen TextbookBC--Business
This support resource lists a broad range of open educational resources (OER) organized by discipline. OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that, through permissions granted by the copyright holder, allow others to use, distribute, keep, or make changes to them.”—from the website
Open Textbook Library—Business
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Wikibooks--Business M*“Books on this shelf deal with biology: the science that studies living organisms. More specifically, it examines the structure, function, growth, origin, evolution, distribution, and classification of all living things.”—from the website
Coursera M* --Business Foundations Courses
Our free Coursera for Campus Student plan helps you build skills to add to your resume with unlimited Guided Projects and 1 free course per year.”—from the website
Class Central M*
“Class Central is a search engine and reviews site for free online courses popularly known as MOOCs or Massive Open Online Courses.”—from the website
Crash Course
"Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube! From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
edX Businesss*
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
Open Course Library--Business
“A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.” Some textbooks paired with courses may have to be purchased. Most are not more than $30.”—from the website
OpenLearn -
“Welcome to OpenLearn - the home of free learning from The Open University. Are you looking for a new topic to explore, or want to dig deeper into something you've already discovered? Whether it’s a 60-second animated video or a 24-hour course you are after, you will find it on OpenLearn for free.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware* - Business
“MIT OpenCourseWare (OCW) is a web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content. OCW is open and available to the world and is a permanent MIT activity..”—from the website
Saylor Academy* —Business Administration
“Jump-start your career by pursuing your degree or certificate in small business management, entrepreneurship, marketing, finance, and more through our free online courses in business administration and management. You can earn a free certificate of completion for any of these online Business Administration courses, or use many of them to earn credit in leading college programs..”—from the website
Case Centre
“As part of The Case Centre’s commitment to promoting the case method and supporting case teachers, we offer a growing range of free cases produced by a number of prominent schools and organisations across the globe. You must be registered and logged in to our website to access free cases.”—from the website
Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative
“The Daniels Fund Ethics Initiative Collegiate Program drives the strengthening of principle-based ethics education throughout each participating school. The ultimate goal is to instill a high standard of ethics in our young people. To date, more than 450,000 students, faculty, and businesspeople have been reached by the Collegiate Program. To request case notes, please send an email to billdanielsethics@gmail.com with your name, title, and institution.”—from the website
Harvard Business Collection
“Bring excitement into your classroom with engaging case discussions and introduce students to the challenge and fun of making important decisions.”—from the website
Journal of Business Case Studies
“The intent of JBCS is to publish papers that significantly contribute to the field of teaching & learning by using business case studies.”—from the website
MIT Sloan School of Business
“The teaching business case studies available here are narratives that facilitate class discussion about a particular business or management issue. Teaching cases are meant to spur debate among students rather than promote a particular point of view or steer students in a specific direction.”—from the website
Markkula Center for Applied Ethics
“Ethics is crucial to every professional field, and the Markkula Center for Applied Ethics conducts programs in many disciplines, including business, health care and biotechnology, government, immigration, the Internet, journalism and media, K-12 education, leadership, the social sector, and technology. We also offer substantial resources on environmental ethics and religious and Catholic ethics.”—from the website
Open Case Studies at UBC
“This project brings together faculty and students from across departments and Faculties to co-create an interdisciplinary, open educational resource with case studies that can be used by anyone, at UBC or elsewhere. Many of these case studies focus on topics in sustainability, but we also include cases on other topics that benefit from an interdisciplinary approach.”—from the website
Oikos Free Case Collection
“Our programs integrate environmental and social perspectives in economics and management education and equip our members with the necessary tools to become today and tomorrow’s responsible leaders. They comprise local and international conferences, webinars, workshops, simulation games, and other initiatives that provide platforms for learning, creating and sharing solutions.”—from the website
SSRN
“SSRN is an open-access online preprint community providing valuable services to leading academic schools and government institutions. Specializing primarily in social sciences, including economics, law, corporate governance, and humanities, SSRN is branching out in to other science disciplines providing opportunities for scholars to post their early research, collaborate on theories and discoveries, and get credit for their ideas before peer reviewed publication.”—from the website
Classroom Aide: 15 Business Simulation Games Could Build Hands-on Business Experience
“Starting and managing a business could be very challenging and risky, now you can gain a hands-on experience from the following business simulation games. Play and learn, there are several free games definitely worth your time.”—from the website
(Association for Business Simulation and Experiential Learning)
“An instructional resource for courses dealing with strategic management and business policy, both domestically and internationally. Formulation of mission, objectives and strategy are emphasized, with opportunity to implement strategies and policies that will lead to the realization of objectives. A premium is placed on successful integration of functional area concepts. The model is challenging to upper-division undergraduate and graduate business students.”—from the website
BricksorClicks.com
“This site puts you in the role of CEO at a traditional toy manufacturer. The company, called ToyBlocks Co., must confront the challenges of launching an online sales channel while managing and maintaining their current traditional sales channels. The Kellogg Case Simulation Team, Knowledge Dynamics, and Powersim Corporation have partnered to develop BricksorClicks.com for the DFC 2000.”—from the website
Pedagogy in Action
“The goal of the Pedagogic Service is encourage educators to reflect critically on their own teaching practices and to support them in exploring new pedagogies. Building on a successful model in the geosciences, we have created a library of pedagogic methods and a collection of activities which exemplify each method. The complete library is available through the Pedagogy in Action portal.”—from the website
Annenberg Learner--
As part of its mission to advance excellent teaching in American schools, Annenberg Learner funds and distributes educational video programs – with coordinated online and print materials – for the professional development of K-12 teachers. Many programs are also intended for students in the classroom and viewers at home, with videos that exemplify excellent teaching. Annenberg Learner also partners with impactful organizations to provide other means of achieving this goal. As part of the Annenberg Foundation, Learner supports the Foundation’s mission to encourage the development of more effective ways to share ideas and knowledge.
CK12--
CK-12 Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to increasing access to high quality educational materials for K-12 students all over the world. We offer free high-quality, standards-aligned, open content in the STEM subjects. By providing these free resources, CK-12 is working toward educational equity for all.
Crash Course--Business
“At Crash Course, we believe that high quality educational videos should be available to everyone for free! Subscribe for weekly videos from our current courses! The Crash Course team has produced more than 32 courses on a wide variety of subjects, including organic chemistry, literature, world history, biology, philosophy, theater, ecology, and many more.”—from the website
Ceative Commons
CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
Future Learn--Business & Management
“We have courses in a diverse range of subjects and are always adding more. Courses vary in length. Most are six to ten weeks long but we also have some shorter two and three week courses. Read reviews of FutureLearn courses to see how other learners enjoy learning online with FutureLearn.”—from the website
OER Business - Videos
“Dallas County Community College District Open Education Resource(OER). A collection of resources provided by Dallas TeleLearning, a part of the Dallas County Community College District. Dallas TeleLearning has been producing distance learning courses since 1972. Our dynamic content features some of the most prominent voices in education from colleges and universities around the globe. For additional information, access the Dallas TeleLearning link to the left.”—from the website
Podcasts for Startups
“Whether you’re considering starting your own business, or are an already successful entrepreneur, listening to how others succeeded can help you better achieve the goals you have set for your business.”—from the website
TED Talks—Business* “TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
University Videos
This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities. Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers. User Benefits: there are four main user-enhancement features to watch for:
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |