Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Heritage University OER (Open Access Resources): Faculty Guide to OER

New LibGuide for OER (Open Access Resources)

Faculty Guide to OER

Open Washington

Open Pedagogy

April Open Perspective: What is Open Pedagogy?

Perspective of Robert Schuwer, Professor OER at Fontys University of Applied Sciences, Eindhoven, the Netherlands

OER-Enabled Pedagogy (Open Education Group)

“The purpose of this page is to provide a list of concrete examples of how OER-enabled pedagogy, is implemented in the real world.” –website

BCcampus Webinar on Open Pedagogy

“The purpose of this document is to generate 15-20  examples of Open Pedagogy (quadrant 1).” –website

Open Pedagogy Notebook: Sharing Practices, Building Community

"This website is designed to serve as a resource for educators interested in learning more about Open Pedagogy."--website

Teaching in the Open

“Teaching in the open means that you are making some or all aspects of your learning environment available and accessible to the public.”--website 

Examples of Open Pedagogy work at TCC
Categorizes different types of renewable assignments and provides examples from Tacoma Community College.

 

OER Courses and Guides

Affordable Learning Georgia
Tutorial 1: Finding Free and Open Resources

"Welcome to Finding Free and Open Resources, a chapter-by-chapter informational tutorial for USG faculty and staff interested in replacing expensive commercial textbooks with affordable resources." --from the website

Tutorial 2: Creating and Modifying Open Educational Resources

"Welcome to Creating and Modifying Open Educational Resources, a chapter-by-chapter informational tutorial for USG faculty and staff interested in creating or adapting open educational resources." --from the website

Five Steps to OER Adoption, CCCOER. 
"Steps 1-3 involve evaluation of OER, including a decision of whether to modify or not and how to attribute modified materials. Steps 4-5 involve processes and policies at your institution." --from the website

Good Practices for University Open-access Policies
"This is a guide to good practices for college and university open-access (OA) policies. It's based on the type of rights-retention OA policy first adopted at Harvard, Stanford, MIT, and the University of Kansas." --from the website
 

The Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI).
“Sharing information and resources to assist in the development and implementation of institutional Open Access (OA) policies. The COAPI Toolkit includes a diverse collection of resources that COAPI members have developed in the course of their OA policy initiatives." --from the website

Learning to (Re)Use Open Educational Resources Course, Peer 2 Peer University.
“This open course will guide participants through the discovery, use and reuse of open educational resources (OER) for teaching purposes in all sectors of education. Together we will explore approaches to selecting and using materials that have been created by others, unpack the process of adaptation and discuss sharing and networking. This course will be highly attractive to both those who want to start using OER in their teaching and those who are already users but who are looking for an opportunity to create and share their own teaching resources for teaching." --from the website

A Short Guide to Sharing Your Work,  

“This book offers authors new perspectives on how to move forward with their work, including how they can make it easily accessible and affordable for their students. Written by two librarians, this title provides information on the various file formats for publishing, as well as copyright information.” From the website.

Student Advocacy

OER Commons: Student Advocacy
A repository for students advocating for OER on their campuses. This group contains the Student OER Toolkit developed by student advocates in the CCC and CSU systems. No new members are currently being admitted. The published toolkit is available to all without being a group member.

OER Student Toolkit, BCcampus Open Education, Victoria, British Columbia
“The high cost of educational resources and textbooks create a serious obstacle to the accessibility and affordability of a post-secondary education. Traditional educational resources also present barriers to innovation in pedagogy and curriculum design. Fortunately, open educational resources (OER) are a viable solution to both these problems, since they can be accessed for free online or printed at a fraction of the cost of a traditional textbook and can be edited to better fit the curricular or pedagogical goals of an instructor.”-Book Description.

Open Educational Resources (OER): A Guide for Student Advocates

Welcome to the world of OER!  The University of Arkansas Libraries is dedicated to advancing awareness and encouraging the adoption of OER on our campus. We understand that the cost of attending college continues to rise and that often it is a struggle for students to secure the financial resources needed to pursue degrees.  Even purchasing textbooks can often be a financial challenge!  This is why we encourage faculty to consider OER when selecting textbooks for their courses. 

Open Educational Resources (OER): Advocacy
Many higher education institutions have asked students how they feel about, and what challenges the face as a result of, course material costs. Here, students at the Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University share their thoughts.

Open Educational Resources & Textbook Affordability

Over the past several years, students and educators have watched with concern as the cost of educational materials has risen dramatically. According to an NBC News study, textbook costs have increased more than 1,000% since 1977, outpacing the cost of medical care, new homes, and the consumer price index..  Expensive course materials can be detrimental to students as they may struggle to keep up in classes and may be more likely to drop out when they cannot readily access textbook material. Seeking to address these concerns, colleges and universities have begun to seek educational materials that are both high-quality and affordable for students.

OER Software

80 Open Education Resource (OER) Tools for Publishing and Development Initiatives
“Many Open Education Resources (OER) have been introduced by governments, universities, and individuals within the past few years. OERs provide teaching and learning materials that are freely available and offered online for anyone to use.”—from the website 


16 OER Sites Every Educator Should Know

“Open educational resources not only save students from triple-digit (or more!) textbook costs, but they also allow instructors to mix-and-match content for a more personalized, engaging learning experience. Here are 16 resources that offer a wide range of content and tools to help implement OER in just about any course.”—from the website 

A Guide to Free and Open Source Education
“Nearly every week, if not every day, there are more and more open source and open educational resources available and accessible to us. It's impossible to ignore. It also seems impossible to keep pace with the sheer volume. Despite this, I will attempt here to give a comprehensive listing of many helpful, accessible, amazing open education resources. (There will inevitably be some left out, but here goes!) .”—from the website 

The OER Starter Kit
“Book Description:This starter kit has been created to provide instructors with an introduction to the use and creation of open educational resources (OER). The text is broken into five sections: Getting Started, Copyright, Finding OER, Teaching with OER, and Creating OER.”—from the website 

Authoring Guides for OER

             

  

Pressbooks for EDU Guide
by Zoe Wake Hyde
 Publication Date: 2016
This eBook “details how to use the many Pressbooks features that are specific to academic publishing.”—website



Adaptation Guide 
by Lauri M. Aesoph

2016/2019

“The Adaptation Guide is a practical reference about how to customize — or adapt — an open textbook so that it better fits your needs in the classroom and elsewhere.”-from the website

 

Authoring Open Textbooks 
by Melissa Falldin, Karen Lauritsen

Publication Date: 2017

“Content includes a checklist for getting started, publishing program case studies, textbook organization and elements, writing resources and an overview of useful tools.”-from the website

.

The Evolution of Affordable Content Efforts in the Higher Education Environment 
by Kristi Jensen (Editor); Shane Nackerud (Editor)

Publication Date: 2018

“Provides both inspiration and guidance for those beginning work on affordable content and evidence of the growth that has occurred in this arena over the last decade.”-from the website

 

Faculty OER Toolkit 
by Shannon Moist

Publication Date: 2017

“Included are definitions and examples, information about Creative Commons licensing, and tips on how to adapt and/or adopt OER for classroom use.”-from the website

 

Modifying an Open Textbook: What You Need to Know
by Cheryl Cuillier, Amy Hofer, Annie Johnson, Kathleen Labadorf, Karen Lauritsen, Peter Potter, Richard Saunders, Anita Walz

Publication Date: 2016

“This is a five-step guide for faculty, and those who support faculty, who want to modify an open textbook. Step-by-step instructions included.”—from the website

 

The Rebus Guide to Publishing Open Textbooks (So Far) 
by Apurva Ashok and Zoe Wake Hyde

Publication Date: 2018

“Representing two years of collaboration, innumerable conversations and exchanges, and a wide range of collective knowledge and experience, the Guide is a book-in-progress and will evolve and grow over time.”—from the website

 


Wikibooks OER Authoring

A considerable collection of materials on self-authoring one’s own OER textbook, courseware etc.

Student Advocacy

OER Student Toolkit, BCcampus Open Education, Victoria, British Columbia
“The high cost of educational resources and textbooks create a serious obstacle to the accessibility and affordability of a post-secondary education. Traditional educational resources also present barriers to innovation in pedagogy and curriculum design. Fortunately, open educational resources (OER) are a viable solution to both these problems, since they can be accessed for free online or printed at a fraction of the cost of a traditional textbook and can be edited to better fit the curricular or pedagogical goals of an instructor.”-Book Description.


 

OER COMMONS: Student Advocacy

"A repository for students advocating for OER on their campuses. This group contains the Student OER Toolkit developed by student advocates in the CCC and CSU systems. No new members are currently being admitted. The published toolkit is available to all without being a group member." --from the website

Open Educational Resources & Textbook Affordability
"For students, the high cost of educational resources and textbooks can be a serious obstacle to the accessibility and affordability of a post-secondary education. For instructors, traditional educational resources may also present a barrier to innovation in teaching and curriculum design. Fortunately, open educational resources (OER) provide a viable solution to both these issues. OER can be accessed for free online or printed at a fraction of the cost of a traditional textbook, and can be edited to better fit the curricular or pedagogical goals of an instructor." --from the website

OER Research

OERHUB, Researching Open Education,
"The Open Education Research Hub (OER Hub) are leaders in researching the impact of open educational resources (OER) on teaching and learning practices. Our aim is to raise the quality and profile of research in this field. OER Hub has three key objectives:

  • Building capacity in the OER research domain

  • Conducting research into open education and OER

  • Producing resources for the open education research community." --from the website

OER Research/Survey Toolkit,

"The OER Research Toolkit is comprised of the OER Research Guidebook and several additional resources. (Resources listed below without links are coming soon.)

Qualitative Investigation of Faculty Open Educational Resource Usage in the Washington Community and Technical College System: Models for Support and Implementation”. (PDF)  
"Faculty in the Washington Community and Technical Colleges (WA CTC) system appear to use Open Educational Resources (OER) for various pedagogical and philosophical reasons. They have experienced a wide variety of benefits and challenges in implementing OER." --from the website

Research page from CCCOER
"The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) promotes the awareness and adoption of open educational policies, practices, and resources. We believe that these practices will promote equitable access to education particularly for underserved students while supporting academic freedom and faculty choice of openly licensed curriculum materials. Our membership includes hundreds of colleges across North America." --from the website

Collaborative Authoring

Writing Spaces 
“Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each volume in the Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing series contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students—with each book available for download for free under a Creative Commons license.”—from the website

PreTeXt (formerly MathBook XML) 
"In May 2017, MathBook XML was renamed PreTeXt in order to suggest that it is suitable for much more than writing mathematics books. Its development began on the first UTMOST and is continuing with the current project. Three of the basic principles guiding the design of PreTeXt are

  • PreTeXt is a markup language that captures the structure of textbooks and research papers in the mathematical sciences.
  • PreTeXt is human-readable and human-writable.
  • PreTeXt documents serve as a single source which can be easily converted to multiple other formats, current and future.”—from the website
     

Open Educational Resources and Collaborative Content Development: A Practical Guide for State and School Leaders
Open educational resources (OER) are educational materials made available for sharing, accessing and reusing
through a public or open license. Without a designation of an open license, the learning resources are “locked down”
by traditional copyright laws and sharing is limited. By asserting an open license, all taxpayer-funded educational
resources, professional development, and learning materials created can be freely shared within and across state
boundaries. Organizations and entities receiving federal or state taxpayer funds to create educational resources have
a moral obligation to share those resources publicly.

Learning Portal: Collaborating

Through alternative licensing that encourages peer contributions and sharing, OER invites collaboration among faculty, students, library staff, and institutions. This module addresses the benefits and modes of collaboration, and provides examples of collaborative OER efforts to get involved in.
Collaborative Platforms for Open Content Development  "Hear from several stakeholders who have adopted collaborative platforms to streamline the process from course outline to delivery of fully OER courses and open textbooks."

 

 

Using Videos?

 

 

 

Integrating WeBWorK into TextbooksSample Exercises
WeBWorK-MathBook XML Bridge Project Complete
Learn more about the Open Oregon project linking these resources together.

EdReady™
Integrating WeBWorK into TextbooksSample Exercises™ lets you assess your readiness for college math and English, see target options, and get a personalized study path to fill in knowledge gaps.


 

National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS): Science Education
The National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) supports basic research that increases our understanding of biological processes and lays the foundation for advances in disease diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. NIGMS-funded scientists investigate how living systems work at a range of levels—from molecules and cells to tissues and organs—in research organisms, humans, and populations. Additionally, to ensure the vitality and continued productivity of the research enterprise, NIGMS provides leadership in training the next generation of scientists, enhancing the diversity of the scientific workforce, and developing research capacity throughout the country.

Curriki
“The all in-one solution to create and publish your content.  CurrikiStudio is a content authoring and publishing solution that allows you to create and manage dynamic learning experiences.

Edsitement!

Learning objects and lessons from the National Endowment for the Humanities. It offers a large collection of peer evaluated websites.

Community of Online Research Assignments
Open resource for faculty and librarians about Research Assignments. A research assignment is anything that requires students to engage with information resources in a critical or reflective way. This most often includes finding, retrieving, analyzing and evaluating, using and integrating, or organizing the information in order to produce new knowledge.

OpenCulture
This blog formatted repository seeks to bring together free resources on culture and education. The list of movies here is impressive

Resources for evaluating OER

Recommended:

Checklist for Evaluating Open Educational Resources (OER)
A very thorough and complete checklist developed by Austin Community College

Other Sources:

Achieve -- Rubrics for Evaluating Open Education Resource (OER) Objects
Achieve.org provides “rubrics represent an evaluation system for objects found within Open Education Resources.”--website

OER Checklist
A remarkably through and complete checklist from Open Educational Resources

OER Evaluation Criteria (pdf)
Single page checklist from Affordable Learning Georgia

Open Education Resources at Aquinas: Adopting and Evaluating OER
A useful site provided by our friends at Aquinas University

iRubric: Evaluating OER Rubric
Rcampus offers these “questions to ask about the OER you are thinking of using.”—website

Rubric for Evaluating Open Source Resources (pdf)
A thorough checklist for evaluating OER under consideration for adaption.

Videos on OER

Open Educational Resources 101 (2017).
#GoOpen is a campaign launched by the Department of Education to encourage states, school districts, and educators to use openly licensed resources. The goal of the campaign is to provide all students with high quality educational resources.

An Introduction to Open Educational Resources
Open educational resources are educational materials and resources offered freely and openly for anyone and available under a license that allows users to use, remix, improve and redistribute. Sharing ideas and resources and collaborating on projects as part of a community is key to the Open Education movement.
 

High Impact Practices for Integrating Open Educational Resources (OER) into University Courses
In this presentation, David Wiley describes Open Educational Resources (OER), why they are promising and how to adopt them in order to significantly improve higher education affordability, student outcomes and breadth of impact.

 

Open for Students AND Educators: Open Education Resources Level the Playing Field, Webinar for ACRL, Oct. 22, 2019. 55 minutes.

Video Overviews

An Introduction to Open Educational Resources,
Open educational resources are educational materials and resources offered freely and openly for anyone and available under a license that allows users to use, remix, improve and redistribute. Sharing ideas and resources and collaborating on projects as part of a community is key to the Open Education movement.

High Impact Practices for Integrating Open Educational Resources (OER) into University Courses
In this presentation, David Wiley describes Open Educational Resources (OER), why they are promising and how to adopt them in order to significantly improve higher education affordability, student outcomes and breadth of impact.

Open for Students AND Educators: Open Education Resources Level the Playing Field,
Recording of the October 22, 2019, ACRL Presents: Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources Level the Playing Field, with speaker Sara Rachel Benson, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

OER Associations

Appropedia
“Appropedia is the site to develop and share collaborative solutions in sustainabilitypoverty reduction and international development through the use of sound principles and appropriate technology, original research and project information. We are a wiki, a type of website which allows anyone to add and edit content. In order to contribute, we only require a quick and simple registration.”—from the website

Aspen Institute
“The Ideas Worth Teaching initiative is designed to draw attention to important new ideas about the role of business in creating a sustainable, inclusive society. We produce a tightly curated, weekly email for business school faculty and others, with the goal of prompting new conversations in the classroom about relationships between corporations, capital markets, and the public good.”—from the website

Coalition of Open Access Policy Institutions (COAPI). “
Sharing information and resources to assist in the development and implementation of institutional Open Access (OA) policies. The COAPI Toolkit includes a diverse collection of resources that COAPI members have developed in the course of their OA policy initiatives.”—from the website

Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources

The Community College Consortium for Open Educational Resources (CCCOER) promotes the awareness and adoption of open educational policies, practices, and resources.

Open Education Consortium, the Global Network for Open Education

“The Open Education Consortium (OEC) is a non-profit, global, members-based network of open education institutions and organizations. OEC represents its members and provides advocacy and leadership around advancement of open education globally. OEC works with its members to build capacity to find, reuse, create and share Open Educational Resources (OER), develop open policy, create sustainable open education models, and enable international collaboration and innovation. OEC annually coordinates and hosts Open Education Week, the Open Education Global conference, and Open Education Awards for Excellence. Collectively these efforts aim to bring high quality, inclusive education to all learners around the world.”—from the website

Patricia K. Cross Academy

“The demanding realm of higher education can be surprisingly low on practical resources. You want your students to succeed, and the K. Patricia Cross Academy is here to help you do just that. As a nonprofit, our content is complimentary, concise, and packed with proven ways to earn measurable results. Best of all, it's anonymous and always free.”—from the website

Teachers.net
“Teachers.Net was founded in 1995 by San Diego teacher Anthony Bott, who recognized the challenge and opportunity emerging technology posed for educators. He founded Teachers.Net to help teachers harness the brand new World Wide Web and related technologies, and for the last two decades he's worked to further that mission, and keep teachers abreast of the rapidly evolving technology front.”—from the website

Voices for Openness
​​​​​​​
“We are a world-wide community of collaborators — forward-thinking students, educators, content developers, and technologists carrying the banner of Open Education in language learning. From first-time Yoruba language student to the editor of a world languages website, we are people who are excited about Open Educational Resources (OER). These web-based learning materials, which can be accessed freely by the public, are the building blocks of the Open Education movement. Read our stories and consider adding your own voice.”—from the website