arXiv
“A curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. As a pioneer in digital open access, arXiv.org now hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas, curated by our strong community of volunteer moderators.”—from the website
The Merlot System--Computer Science M*
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
National Science Digital Library--Computer Science
“The National Science Digital Library provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.”—from the website
OER Commons* --Computer Science
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
The Teaching Commons M*--Computer Science
“The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.”—from the website
Khan Academy--Computer * “Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
Lumen Learning--Introduction to Computer Applications and Concepts
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware- *
“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
DOAJ
“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
Georgia Knowledge Repository
The Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) is a central metadata repository containing records from participating GALILEO institutions that can be freely searched by the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large.
Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
JURN
“Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
SPARC
“SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition) works to enable the open sharing of research outputs and educational materials in order to democratize access to knowledge, accelerate discovery, and increase the return on our investment in research and education.”—from the website
Bookboon.com - Digitization & IT
“Free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, all on one easy-to-use online ebook platform.”—from the website
College Open Textbooks--Computer Science
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Free Computer Books
“Free textbooks (aka open textbooks) written by knowledgable scholars are a relatively new phenomenon. Below, find a meta list of Free Computer Science Textbooks, part of our larger collection 200 Free Textbooks: A Meta Collection.”—from the website
Free TechBooks
“This site lists free online computer science, engineering and programming books, textbooks and lecture notes, all of which are legally and freely available over the Internet.”—from the website
InTechOpen--Computer Science
inTech Open believes “that scientific progress is generated by collaboration, that the playing field for scientific research should be leveled globally, and that research conducted in a democratic environment, with the use of innovative technologies, should be made available to anyone.”—from the website
Open Culture--Free Online Computer Science Courses
“Get free Computer Science courses online from the world’s leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player. For more online courses, visit our complete collection.”—from the website
O'Reilly Open Books Project
“O'Reilly has published a number of Open Books--books with various forms of "open" copyright--over the years. The reasons for "opening" copyright, as well as the specific license agreements under which they are opened, are as varied as our authors.”—from the website.
Open TextbookBC--Computer Science
“This support resource lists a broad range of open educational resources (OER) organized by discipline. OER are teaching, learning, and research resources that, through permissions granted by the copyright holder, allow others to use, distribute, keep, or make changes to them.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP)--Computer Science
“The National Academies Press (NAP) publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAP publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and medicine, providing authoritative, independently-researched information on important matters in science and health policy.”—from the website
OAPEN--Computer Science
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
Open Textbook Library--Computer Science
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
Wikibooks--Computing M*“Books on this shelf deal with biology: the science that studies living organisms. More specifically, it examines the structure, function, growth, origin, evolution, distribution, and classification of all living things.”—from the website
Crash Course--Computer Science
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube!
From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
Creative Commons--Computer
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
TED Talks--Computers*
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
University Videos
This new Digital Library portal contains the metadata of the YouTube Channels of the world's Top Universities. Viewing University Videos within the Digital Library provides viewer-enhancements that will make these videos attract and keep more viewers. User Benefits: there are four main user-enhancement features to watch for:
Coursera--Computer Science M*
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
edX--Computer Science M* “There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
Increase access to high-quality education for everyone, everywhere
Enhance teaching and learning on campus and online
Advance teaching and learning through research.”—from the website
Future Learn - Tech & Coding Courses
“FutureLearn courses are divided into weeks. These contain various activities that you should aim to complete within the week, each one built from a sequence of straightforward steps, to help you learn. Each week is given a descriptive name, so you always know what’s expected, and you can even navigate between them, to see what’s coming up, or catch up from the beginning if you’re late starting.”—from the website
Saylor Academy*--Computer Science
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”—from the website
MIT Open CourseWare--Computer Science* “The idea is simple: to publish all of our course materials online and make them widely available to everyone.” Dick K.P. Yue, Professor, MIT School of Engineering.”—from the website
Code Academy
“We want to create a world where anyone can build something meaningful with technology, and everyone has the learning tools, resources, and opportunities to do so. Code contains a world of possibilities — all that’s required is the curiosity and drive to learn. At Codecademy, we are committed to empowering all people, regardless of where they are in their coding journeys, to continue to learn, grow, and make an impact on the world around them.”—from the website
Google for Education - Applied CS Skills
“More than 65% of young people will work in jobs that don’t currently exist. Learning computer science skills helps students thrive in a rapidly changing world. Yet our research with Gallup shows that many students aren’t getting the Computer Science (CS) education they need—and teachers don’t have sufficient resources to provide it. Code with Google helps to ensure that every student has access to the collaborative, coding, and technical skills that unlock opportunities in the classroom and beyond–no matter what their future goals may be.”
C++ Reference
“The elements of the C language library are also included as a subset of the C++ Standard library. These cover many aspects, from general utility functions and macros to input/output functions and dynamic memory management functions.”—from the website
Computational Science Education Reference Desk (CSERD)
“A Pathways portal of the National Science Digital Library and funded by the National Science Foundation. CSERD aims to help students learn about computational science and to help faculty and teachers incorporate it into the classroom.”—from the website
JavaScript Cheat Sheet
“JavaScript is gaining much importance as a programming language. It is increasingly the go-to language for building web properties thanks to its proven track record and benefits.
Stack Exchange
“Launched in 2010, the Stack Exchange network comprises 173 Q&A communities including Stack Overflow, the largest, most trusted online community for developers to learn, share their knowledge, and build their careers. Since then, the Stack Exchange network has grown into a top 50 online destination with Stack Overflow and our technical sites serving more than 100 million developers and technologists every month..”—from the website
The Ultimate HTML 5 Cheat Sheet – 2021
“WPKube has prepared an extensive, up-to-date, ultimate cheat sheet on HTML 5— it includes all the tags listed in alphabetical order. We also included the availability of the tag from the previous HTML 4 version for comparison.”—from the website
W3Schools
‘W3Schools is optimized for learning, testing, and training. Examples might be simplified to improve reading and basic understanding. Tutorials, references, and examples are constantly reviewed to avoid errors, but we cannot warrant full correctness of all content.”—from the website
arXiv
“arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,891,879 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.”—from the website
DOE (Department of Energy) Pages
“The Department of Energy Public Access Gateway for Energy and Science (DOE PAGES) is the DOE discovery tool, developed by the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), that makes peer-reviewed scholarly scientific publications resulting from DOE research funding publicly accessible.”—from the website
Open Science (OSF) Preprints
“For COS to achieve our mission, we must drive change in the culture and incentives that drive researchers’ behavior, the infrastructure that supports their research, and the business models that dominate scholarly communication.”—from the website
Preprints
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |