American Literature I: An Anthology of Texts from Early America Through the Civil War
Introduction to Logic and Critical Thinking
Introduction to Philosophy: Ethics
Introduction to Philosophy: Logic
Introduction to Philosophy: Philosophy of Religion
Mi idioma, mi comunidad: español para bilingües
Prose Fiction: An Introduction to the Semiotics of Narrative
HippoCampusM --English
“HippoCampus.org is a free, core academic web site that delivers rich multimedia content--videos, animation, and simulations--on general education subjects to middle-school and high-school teachers and college professors.”—from the website
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M*—English and Humanities
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
The Merlot System M*—English, Composition and Humanities
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.”—from the website
Open Michigan-- Romance Languages and Literatures
“Make the products of its research, teaching, and creative work available to the world beyond campus. We are the home for all things open at the University of Michigan—including expertise and services for open educational resources, open data, and open publications.”—from the website
OER Commons M*-- English Language Arts and Arts and Humanities
“The worldwide OER movement is rooted in the human right to access high-quality education. This shift in educational practice is not just about cost savings and easy access to openly licensed content; it’s about participation and co-creation.”—from the website
Open Culture
“Get free courses online from the world’s leading universities. You can download these audio & video courses straight to your computer or mp3 player. For more online courses, visit our complete collection.”—from the website
The Teaching Commons M*—Arts & Humanities
“The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more.”—from the website
OER English Composition
“A collection of resources provided by Dallas TeleLearning, a part of the Dallas County Community College District. Dallas TeleLearning has been producing distance learning courses since 1972. Our dynamic content features some of the most prominent voices in education from colleges and universities around the globe. For additional information, access the Dallas TeleLearning link to the left.”—from the website
Writing Commons
“Writing Commons is
Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
“Find everything you need to help with every aspect of the writing process at the Excelsior College Online Writing Lab Access its multimedia activities from your desktop or mobile device. The OWL is easy to navigate. You can search for the resources you need and then practice what you’ve learned. Keep track of your activity scores to see your progress or share with others.”—from the website
Purdue Online Writing Lab*
“The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and we provide these as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects. Teachers and trainers may use this material for in-class and out-of-class instruction. .”—from the website
Spanish Grammar in Context
“Spanish Grammar in Context is a unique website that provides detailed grammar explanations and examples of the Spanish language with accompanying practice questions.”—from the website
SpinTX - Authentic Spanish Videos for Language Learning
“The SpinTX video archive provides access to selected video clips and transcripts from the Spanish in Texas Corpus, a collection of video interviews with bilingual Spanish speakers in Texas. Using SpinTX, you can search and tag the videos for features that match your interests, and create and share your favorite playlists.”—from the website
LangMedia
“Language by Country videos focus on practical aspects of everyday life. They were filmed by Five College international students between 1999 and 2002. Some cultural information is out-of-date, but many of the videos remain linguistically useful. Transcripts and translations are provided.”—from the website
LibriVox - Spanish
“LibriVox recordings are Public Domain in the USA. If you are not in the USA, please verify the copyright status of these works in your own country before downloading, otherwise you may be violating copyright laws.”—from the website
Memrise - Spanish
“Each of our official Spanish language courses is designed by a team of Spanish language experts to teach you how to speak in real-life situations. From finding your way around the old quarters in each Spanish city, to choosing a tapas (sweet or savoury?), shopping in local convenience stores, meeting people on a night out or connecting with family, you’ll learn the language as it’s used by native Spaniards in daily life. And you won’t find any old textbook-style language in our courses! We bring the beauty and culture of a language to life with lessons that include over 3000 words and phrases and close to 10,000 native speaker audio or video clips, spoken by real people.”—from the website
Mia Cositas
“Thematic curriculum units with cultural connections, lesson plans, & handouts.
Teaching materials: printable workbooks and clipart collections
Web-based virtual picturebooks with illustrations & vocabulary
Instructional & cultural videos subtitled in simple Spanish with key words
Realia: tickets, currency and brochures and links.”—from the website
Spanish Language and Culture
“Spanish Language and Culture with Barbara Kuczun Nelson was formerly known as Spanish Grammar Exercises. Welcome to the new site.”—from the website
Bloomsbury Open Access
“Bloomsbury Academic began as an open access book publisher in 2009 with the launch of a new creative commons initiative by Dr. Frances Pinter. Since then the division has grown to become a leading global independent publisher focussing on the Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences with offices in London, New York, Sydney and New Delhi. We have one of the largest open access book portfolios with several hundred titles available through our rapidly expanding Bloomsbury Open Access programme. We are committed to evolving this programme as well as adapting to change as the demand for open access increases.”—from the website
Bookboon.com - English
“Free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, all on one easy-to-use online ebook platform.”—from the website
DigitalCultureBooks (University of Michigan Press/Library)
"Digitalculturebooks content is available to view for free online and for purchase in print and ebook format. Our titles are typically produced under an Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 Creative Commons (CC) License, which allows for specific, noncommercial use. So as long as you attribute your use properly and follow the terms of the Creative Commons license, you don’t need to contact us for permission to use these works (although we would love to hear about what you’re doing, or if you have suggestions for other scholarly information to include on the site) .”—from the website
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
“DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.”—from the website
Open Textbooks—Humanities
“Textbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.”—from the website
LibreTexts M* – Humanities
“This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.”—from the website
National Academies Press (NAP)
OAPEN English
“OAPEN works with publishers to build a quality controlled collection of open access books, and provides services for publishers, libraries and research funders in the areas of deposit, quality assurance, dissemination, and digital preservation.”—from the website
WikibooksM* English
“Books on this shelf deal with biology: the science that studies living organisms. More specifically, it examines the structure, function, growth, origin, evolution, distribution, and classification of all living things.”—from the website
Coursera M*
“Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums.”—from the website
Crash Course
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube!
From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
edX*
“There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one:
Future Learn
“FutureLearn courses are divided into weeks. These contain various activities that you should aim to complete within the week, each one built from a sequence of straightforward steps, to help you learn. Each week is given a descriptive name, so you always know what’s expected, and you can even navigate between them, to see what’s coming up, or catch up from the beginning if you’re late starting.”—from the website
Learning Classroom: Theory Into Practice
“Explore learning theories and how these ideas apply to classroom practice in this video course for K-12 teachers.”—from the website
Open Course Library
“A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.” Some textbooks paired with courses may have to be purchased. Most are not more than $30.”—from the website
Open Learn
“Produced by The Open University, a world leader in open and distance learning, all OpenLearn courses are free to study. We offer nearly 1000 free courses across 8 different subject areas. Our courses are available to start right away.”—from the website
Saylor Academy*
“Saylor Academy is a nonprofit initiative working since 2008 to offer free and open online courses to all who want to learn.”
MIT Open CourseWare*
“The idea is simple: to publish all of our course materials online and make them widely available to everyone.” Dick K.P. Yue, Professor, MIT School of Engineering.”—from the website
Yale Open Courses*
“The aim of the project is to expand access to educational materials for all who wish to learn.”—from the website
The Guide to Grammar and Writing
“The Guide to Grammar and Writing is sponsored by the Capital Community College Foundation, a nonprofit 501 c-3 organization that supports scholarships, faculty development, and curriculum innovation. If you feel we have provided something of value and wish to show your appreciation, you can assist the College and its students with a tax-deductible contribution.”—from the website
The Writing Center • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
“The Writing Center is an instructional service that provides writing assistance for students, faculty, and staff. We offer both face-to-face and online consultations, as well as a collection of online resources for writers and educators.”—from the website
Aspen Institute
“The Ideas Worth Teaching initiative is designed to draw attention to important new ideas about the role of business in creating a sustainable, inclusive society. We produce a tightly curated, weekly email for business school faculty and others, with the goal of prompting new conversations in the classroom about relationships between corporations, capital markets, and the public good.”—from the website
The Mixxer
“The Mixxer is a free virtual language exchange site using Skype by Dickinson College. The Mixxer is designed to connect language learners around the world so that everyone is both student and teacher. Signup for free to find a language partner. Help them practice your native language while they help you practice theirs.”—from the website
World Languages Community Portal
“Bonjour! Buenos Dias! Guten Tag! Ni Hao! Marhaba! MERLOT welcomes all language educators and students of World Languages to access the many OER available in the ever-expanding World Languages Collection. This pioneer community contains thousands of OER, many of them peer-reviewed by distinguished scholars in the field. Please peruse our collection and correspond with us if you are interested in knowing more about the World Languages community peer review process.”—from the website
Patricia K. Cross Academy
“The demanding realm of higher education can be surprisingly low on practical resources. You want your students to succeed, and the K. Patricia Cross Academy is here to help you do just that. As a nonprofit, our content is complimentary, concise, and packed with proven ways to earn measurable results. Best of all, it's anonymous and always free.”—from the website
Teachers.net
“Teachers.Net was founded in 1995 by San Diego teacher Anthony Bott, who recognized the challenge and opportunity emerging technology posed for educators. He founded Teachers.Net to help teachers harness the brand new World Wide Web and related technologies, and for the last two decades he's worked to further that mission, and keep teachers abreast of the rapidly evolving technology front.”—from the website
Voices for Openness
“We are a world-wide community of collaborators — forward-thinking students, educators, content developers, and technologists carrying the banner of Open Education in language learning. From first-time Yoruba language student to the editor of a world languages website, we are people who are excited about Open Educational Resources (OER). These web-based learning materials, which can be accessed freely by the public, are the building blocks of the Open Education movement. Read our stories and consider adding your own voice.”—from the website
Writing Spaces
“Writing Spaces is an open textbook project for college-level writing studies courses. Each volume in the Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing series contains peer-reviewed collections of essays about writing—all composed by teachers for students—with each book available for download for free under a Creative Commons license.”—from the website
Accessible X-Word
“X-Word Grammar is a systematic way of looking at English grammar that focuses on rules, not exceptions. It is a tool to help you read, write, and speak better in English.”—from the website
Khan Academy* --English / Communications and Arts and Humanities
“Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next.”—from the website
Lumen Learning *--English / Communications and Humanities / Languages
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website
MIT Open Courseware*--Global Languages, Linguistics and Philosophy, Literature, and Music and Theater Arts
“Massachusetts Institute of Technology was one of the pioneers in open courseware. Its Open CourseWare (OCW) “makes the materials used in the teaching of MIT's subjects available on the Web.”—from the website
Library of Congress—English Language & Literature and Humanities
“The Library of Congress offers classroom materials and professional development to help teachers effectively use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections in their teaching.”—from the website
The Writing Center • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
“The Writing Center is an instructional service that provides writing assistance for students, faculty, and staff. We offer both face-to-face and online consultations, as well as a collection of online resources for writers and educators.”—from the website
DOAJ*
“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
Georgia Knowledge Repository
Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) is a central metadata repository containing records from participating GALILEO institutions that can be freely searched by the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large.
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
JURN
“Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.”—from the website
Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
Preprints
“Preprints is a platform dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable. We post original research articles and comprehensive reviews, and papers can be updated by authors at any time. Content on Preprints is not peer-reviewed and can receive feedback from readers.”—from the website.
Research Gate
"Research Gate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
Crash Course
“Crash Course is one of the best ways to educate yourself, your classmates, and your family on YouTube!
From courses like Astronomy to US History and Anatomy & Physiology it's got you covered with an awesome variety of AP high school curriculum topics. With various witty hosts at your service, you won't even notice you're getting smarter.”—from the website
Creative Commons
“CC Search is a tool that allows openly licensed and public domain works to be discovered and used by everyone. Creative Commons, the nonprofit behind CC Search, is the maker of the CC licenses, used over 1.4 billion times to help creators share knowledge and creativity online.”—from the website
Great Writers Inspire
“From Dickens to Shakespeare, from Chaucer to Kipling and from Austen to Blake, this significant collection contains inspirational short talks freely available to the public and the education community worldwide. This series is aimed primarily at first year undergraduates but will be of interest to school students preparing for university and anyone who would like to know more about the world's great writers. The talks were produced as part of the Great Writers Inspire Project which makes a significant body of material freely available on the subject of great works of literature and their authors.”—from the website
TED Talks*
“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
TV411
“TV411 will help you read for success, fine-tune your writing, expand your vocabulary, get a grip on math, and explore science. TV411 is a collection of entertaining videos and engaging web activities, all designed to help you reach your learning goals.”—from the website
Wikimedia Commons (images, videos, and sounds)
“A media file repository making available public domain and freely-licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. Use the search to find content related to your interest.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |