arXiv
“A curated research-sharing platform open to anyone. As a pioneer in digital open access, arXiv.org now hosts nearly two million scholarly articles in eight subject areas, curated by our strong community of volunteer moderators.”—from the website
The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) M*
“Real-time federated search for OER content.”—from the website
The Merlot System M*
“Provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers." --from the website
OASIS *
"Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 117 different sources and contains 388,707 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library." --from the website
The Teaching Commons M*
"The Teaching Commons brings together high-quality open educational resources from leading colleges and universities. Curated by librarians and their institutions, the Teaching Commons includes open access textbooks, course materials, lesson plans, multimedia, and more." --from the website
Coursera M*
"Every course on Coursera is taught by top instructors from the world’s best universities and educational institutions. Courses include recorded video lectures, auto-graded and peer-reviewed assignments, and community discussion forums."--from the website
edX *
There are three commitments we've made to the world. We've been grounded by these since day one: Increase access to high---
quality education for everyone, everywhere. Enhance teaching and learning on campus and online. Advance teaching and learning through research
Future Learn
“FutureLearn courses are divided into weeks. These contain various activities that you should aim to complete within the week, each one built from a sequence of straightforward steps, to help you learn. Each week is given a descriptive name, so you always know what’s expected, and you can even navigate between them, to see what’s coming up, or catch up from the beginning if you’re late starting.”—from the website
MIT Open CourseWare*“The idea is simple: to publish all of our course materials online and make them widely available to everyone.” Dick K.P. Yue, Professor, MIT School of Engineering.”—from the website
“Free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, all on one easy-to-use online ebook platform.”—from the website
LibreTexts M*
"This Living Library is a principal hub of the LibreTexts project, which is a multi-institutional collaborative venture to develop the next generation of open-access texts to improve postsecondary education at all levels of higher learning. The LibreTexts approach is highly collaborative where an Open Access textbook environment is under constant revision by students, faculty, and outside experts to supplant conventional paper-based books.”—from the website
TED Talks *“TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages.”—from the website
Visible Proofs: Forensic Views of the Body
Three online activities and three lesson plans introduce forensic medicine, anthropology, technology, and history. Designed specifically for students and educators, the lesson plans provide educators with ready-made resources for the classroom and the online activities promote active learning for students.
WA Criminal Justice Information Services (CJIS)
"To equip our law enforcement, national security, and intelligence community partners with the criminal justice information they need to protect the United States while preserving civil liberties."--from the website
Bureau of Justice Statistics
"BJS is the primary statistical agency of the Department of Justice. It is one of the thirteen principal federal statistical agencies throughout the Executive Branch, agencies whose activities are predominantly focused on the collection, compilation, processing, or analysis of information for statistical purposes."--from the website
Washington Statistical Analysis Center (SAC)
The Washington Statistical Analysis Center (SAC) is a clearinghouse for crime and justice statistics. U
Data.gov
Whether you are interested in crime, roadway safety, or safety in the workplace, we have something for you. Check out the data, browse and use the apps, and be part of the discussion.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 published and unpublished sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. Since 1973, the project has been located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, and compiled and managed by staff at the Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York
Khan Academy M*Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom. We tackle math, science, computing, history, art history, economics, and more, including K-14 and test preparation (SAT, Praxis, LSAT) content. We focus on skill mastery to help learners establish strong foundations, so there's no limit to what they can learn next!
Lumen Learning*
“In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations. Lumen maintains the Boundless content in the same condition it was provided to us.”—from the website.
Digital Commons Network
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
DOAJ*“The DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent database contains over 15 000 peer-reviewed open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are welcome to apply for inclusion.”—from the website
FreeFullPDF
“The aim of FreeFullPDF.com is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific journals, theses, posters and patents. All scientific subjects are covered and all content are freely available in PDF format. FreeFullPDF.com was developed by KnowMade SARL. KnowMade is a Technology Intelligence company specialized in the research and analysis of scientific and technical information. We provide customized watching services and on demand studies with high added value to businesses and research laboratories.”—from the website
Georgia Knowledge Repository*
The Georgia Knowledge Repository (GKR) is a central metadata repository containing records from participating GALILEO institutions that can be freely searched by the citizens of Georgia and the scholarly community at large.
Journal TOCs
“A searchable resource providing tables of contents for over 17,000 scholarly journals (almost 3000 of which are open access) .”—from the website
JURN
“Search millions of free academic articles, chapters and theses.”—from the website
Research Gate
"ResearchGate allows you to network with the largest global community dedicated to science and research: we help you to expand your contacts, share knowledge and find potential research partners.”—from the website
|
M--Meta= a service which includes resources compiled from other sites and a serves as a directory to them. |
*= a site of some note and merit which has found favor in the Library Dude’s eyes, for better or worse… |