Skip to Main Content
Heritage University Library
Humanities Digital Reference Toolbox
Search this Guide
Humanities Digital Reference Toolbox: Languages
Databases and websites to assist in locating data in the Humanities
Academic Search Premier
General database - Index and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 titles. PDF backfiles and searchable cited references are provided for over 1,000 titles.
Electronic version of Encyclopædia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, magazines and periodicals, and many reliable resources.
Literature Collection - Oxford
Proquest Research Library
General Links - Search/Background
Basic Google search
Google search of scholarly articles
Online encyclopedia - background information, good source of related resources
All the Words in the World
Words pronounced from 281 world languages.
Arts and Letters Daily
Chronicle of Higher Education covering the humanities
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages
Translate words from one language into another language - more than 60 languages covered
Languages Spoken in Each Country in the World
Lists the official language of each country as well as other languages spoken. In selected countries, the percent of the population that speaks each language is also given.
Voice of the Shuttle
Web site for Humanities Research. This site serves as a meta guide to websites of use to the scholarly community in the arts, humanities and social sciences
World Atlas of Language Structures
The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural grammatical, lexical properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials by a team of 55 authors, many of them the leading authorities on the subject.
May 31, 2023 11:10 AM