Heritage University Library: Donald K North Library: Black History Month

Martin Luther King Jr.

Letters and Speeches:

Books

The Word of the Lord is upon me the righteous performance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Jonathan Rieder ebrary, Inc. 2008

Let the trumpet sound : a life of Martin Luther King, Jr. Stephen B Oates 1994. Heritage University Library, Circulating Collection 323.4092 OAT

The life of Martin Luther King, Jr. : leader for civil rights. Michael Schuman author. 2015

From civil rights to human rights Martin Luther King, Jr., and the struggle for economic justice. Thomas F Jackson Martin Luther King Jr., 1929-1968. c2007

Learn More:
The King Center

The Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial

The Nobel Peace Prize of 1964

The 15 Year Battle for Martin Luther King Jr. Day

FREEDOM'S STORY: Teaching African-American Literature and History

Image: "Progress of the American Negro," 1939-40, by Charles White. Courtesy of Howard University, Gallery of Art.
1609–1865

The Varieties of Slave Labor

How Slavery Affected African American Families

Slave Resistance

The Demise of Slavery

Rooted in Africa, Raised in America: The Traditional Arts and Crafts of African-Americans across Five Centuries

Beyond the Written Document: Looking for Africa in African American Culture

1865–1917

Reconstruction and the Formerly Enslaved

“Somewhere” in the Nadir of African American History, 1890-1920

Racial Uplift Ideology in the Era of "The Negro Problem"

Pigmentocracy

Segregation

The Trickster in African American Literature

1917 and Beyond

African American Protest Poetry

The New Negro and the Black Image: From Booker T. Washington to Alain Locke

The Image of Africa in the Literature of the Harlem Renaissance

Jazz in African American Literature

The Civil Rights Movement: 1919-1960s

The Civil Rights Movement: 1968-2008

How to Read a Slave Narrative

Frederick Douglass and Harriet Jacobs: American Slave Narrators

Podcasts & Media Presentations

The 1619 Project: Book Club Discussion from USC
"We discuss the importance of The 1619 Project, the book, the project, and it's impact on our political discourse. Why should we pay attention to history, how does the historical narrative of a country affect the way we face the future?

Aubrey Hicks is joined by Yesenia Hunter [of Heritage University], LaVonna Lewis, Jen Bravo, and David Sloane in a conversation on the meaning and joy in the The 1619 Project: A New Origin Story," (From the Website).

The theme for Black History Month 2024 is African Americans and the Arts

Smithsonian Black History Month 2024
"Celebrate Black History Month with Smithsonian events, resources, exhibitions, and podcasts. The 2024 theme is "African Americans and the Arts" spanning the many impacts Black Americans have had on visual arts, music, cultural movements, and more."

Association for the Study of African American Life and History (ASALH)
"African American artists have used art to preserve history and community memory as well as for empowerment. Artistic and cultural movements such as the New Negro, Black Arts, Black Renaissance, hip-hop, and Afrofuturism, have been led by people of African descent and set the standard for popular trends around the world. In 2024, we examine the varied history and life of African American arts and artisans."

National Museum of African American History and Culture
"Drawn from their ancestors' ancient rites of passage and the shared hopes of liberty, Black artists continue to fuse the rhythmic cadence of creative expressions with the pulsating beats of progress. Our museum celebrates Black History Month 2024 by highlighting the "art of resistance" and the artists who used their crafts to uplift the race, speak truth to power and inspire a nation."

blackhistorymonth.gov/
"Culture shapes lives. It’s in the food people eat, the languages they speak, the art they create, and many other ways they express themselves. These traditions reflect the history and creative spirit of African American and other cultures of the African diaspora. Cultural Expressions is a circular, experiential, introductory space to African American and African diaspora culture."

Local Resources

Antiracism Resources--Yakima YWCA

The Black Heritage Society of Washington State
"Preserving, collecting and sharing the history of African Americans in Washington State are the priorities that shape the BHS mission," (From the website)..

Black History in Washington
"The Washington State Historical Society (WSHS) received funding allocated by the State Legislature in 2020 to research, explore, share and celebrate the history of Black Washingtonians," (From the website)..

African-American Holidays, Heritage, and History

Online Sources
African American Perspectives: Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection
"A panoramic and eclectic review of African American history and culture and is primarily comprised of two collections in the Rare Book and Special Collections Division: the African American Pamphlet Collection and the Daniel A.P. Murray Collection with a date range of 1822 through 1909,"(From the website).

Anti-slavery Manuscripts Collection at the Internet Archive
In the late 1890's, the family of William Lloyd Garrison, along with others closely involved in the anti-slavery movement, presented the library with a major gathering of correspondence, documents, and other original material relating to the abolitionist cause from 1832 until after the Civil War.

Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938
contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves.

Frederick Douglass Papers
"The papers of the nineteenth-century African American abolitionist who escaped from slavery and then risked his freedom by becoming an outspoken antislavery lecturer, writer, and publisher.

Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl, Written by Herself (Harriet A. Jacobs)
"Reader be assured this narrative is no fiction. I am aware that some of my adventures may seem incredible; but they are, nevertheless, strictly true. I have not exaggerated the wrongs inflicted by Slavery; on the contrary, my descriptions fall far short of the facts. I have concealed the names of places, and given persons fictitious names. I had no motive for secrecy on my own account, but I deemed it kind and considerate towards others to pursue this course," (From the preface).

North American Slave Narratives
"Books and articles that document the individual and collective story of Black people struggling for freedom and human rights in the eighteenth, nineteenth, and early twentieth centuries. This collection includes all the existing autobiographical narratives of self-emancipated and formerly enslaved people published as broadsides, pamphlets, or books in English up to 1920.

Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories
The recordings of former slaves in Voices Remembering Slavery: Freed People Tell Their Stories took place between 1932 and 1975 in nine states. Twenty-two interviewees discuss how they felt about slavery, slaveholders, coercion of slaves, their families, and freedom.

Voyage of the Slave Ship Sally
"In 1764, a one-hundred ton brigantine called the Sally embarked from Providence, Rhode Island, to West Africa on a slaving voyage. The ship was owned by Nicholas Brown and Company, a Providence merchant firm run by four brothers – Nicholas, John, Joseph, and Moses Brown. The Sally's voyage was one of roughly a thousand transatlantic slaving ventures launched by Rhode Islanders in the colonial and early national period, and one of the deadliest. Of the 196 Africans acquired by the ship's master, Esek Hopkins, at least 109 perished, some in a failed insurrection, others by suicide, starvation, and disease.

Books

Daily Life of African Americans in Primary Documents by Herbert C. Covey; Dwight Eisnach
ISBN: 1440866643
Publication Date: 2020-11-24
Daily Life of African Americans in Primary Documents takes readers on an insightful journey through the life experiences of African Americans over the centuries, capturing African American experiences, challenges, accomplishments, and daily lives, often in their own words. This two-volume set provides readers with a balanced collection of materials that captures the wide-ranging experiences of African American people over the history of North America. Volume 1 begins with the enslavement and transportation of slaves to North America and ends with the Civil War; Volume 2 continues with the beginning of Reconstruction through the election of Barack Obama to the U.S. presidency. Each volume provides a chronology of major events, a historic overview, and sections devoted to domestic, material, economic, intellectual, political, leisure, and religious life of African Americans for the respective time spans. Volume 1 covers a wide variety of topics from a multitude of perspectives in such areas as enslavement, life during the Civil War, common foods, housing, clothing, political opinions, and similar topics. Volume 2 addresses the civil rights movement, court cases, life under Jim Crow, Reconstruction, busing, housing segregation, and more. Each volume includes 100-110 primary sources with suggested readings from government publications, court testimony, census data, interviews, newspaper accounts, period appropriate letters, Works Progress Administration interviews, sermons, laws, diaries, and reports. Includes more than 200 primary sources unchanged from the originals and accompanied by introductions that inform readers of the significance of the primary source Incorporates the perspectives of formerly enslaved African Americans through Works Progress Administration interviews Identifies some of the challenges of being black in American society Provides readers with a sense of the contexts in which African Americans have lived in America Highlights some of the success stories involving African Americans and some of their contributions to the advancement of American society Provides broad sweeping historic overviews for each volume as well as chronologies of significant events in African American history that shaped everyday life
The Great American Mosaic: an Exploration of Diversity in Primary Documents [4 Volumes] by Emily Moberg Robinson (Editor); Guadalupe Compeán (Editor); Gary Y. Okihiro (Editor); Lionel C. Bascom (Editor); James E. Seelye (Editor)
ISBN: 1610696131
Publication Date: 2014-09-30
This invaluable, four-volume compilation is a comprehensive source of documents that give voice to those who comprise the American mosaic, illustrating the experiences of racial and ethnic minorities in the United States. Each volume focuses on a major racial/ethnic group: African Americans, American Indians, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders, and Latinos. Documents chosen by the editors for their utility and relevance to popular areas of study are organized into chronological periods from historical to contemporary. The collection includes eyewitness accounts, legislation, speeches, and interviews. Together, they tell the story of America's diverse population and enable readers to explore historical concepts and contexts from multiple viewpoints. Introductions for each volume and primary document provide background and history that help students understand and critique the material. The work also features a useful primary document guide, bibliographies, and indices to aid teachers, librarians, and students in class work and research.
Milestone Documents in American History by Kelli McCoy (Editor)
ISBN: 1935306510
Publication Date: 2020-10-01
The new edition of our landmark reference set deepens the original edition's coverage of major themes in American history with nearly 40 new entries (171 total), with a special focus on documents from African American history, women's history, immigration history, as well as 21st-century issues ranging from terrorism to campaign finance to LGBTQ rights. New entries include: John Rolfe: Letter to Edwin Sandys - First documented case of Africans sold into servitude in North America (1619) Abigail Adams: "Remember the Ladies" Letter to John Adams (1776) Ku Klux Klan Act (1871) United States v. Wong Kim Ark (1898) Ida B. Wells: Lynching: Our National Crime (1909) National Organization for Women Statement of Purpose (1966) Andrew Sullivan: A (Conservative) Case for Gay Marriage (1989) Citizens United v. FEC (2010) Barack Obama: Remarks on Signing the Affordable Care Act (2010) Articles of Impeachment of Donald Trump (2019) First published in 2008, Milestone Documents in American History: Exploring the Primary Sources That Shaped America launched an acclaimed series of reference sets focusing on primary sources. Pairing critical documents from America's past with in-depth scholarly analysis and commentary to help students better understand each document, Milestone Documents in American History received widespread critical praise as well as awards including Outstanding Academic Title from Choice magazine, a Booklist Editor's Choice citation, and Best Reference Source from the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association. Praise for the 1st edition: "The premier reference work devoted to the subject" --American Reference Books Annual "Well written and superior in depth and quality" --Booklist starred review "An exceptional work" --School Library Journal Our Approach The entries in Milestone Documents in American History, 2nd edition, are designed to help students engage with and analyze primary sources through a consistent, structured approach. To this end, each entry is divided into 3 sections: fact box, analysis, and document text. Here are the entry headings: Fact Box section This section includes the basic facts of the primary source: Title, Author, Date, Document Type, and a brief statement outlining the document's Significance. Analysis section Overview gives a brief summary of the primary source document and its importance in history. Context places the document in its historical framework. About the Author presents a brief biographical profile of the person or persons who wrote the document. Explanation and Analysis of the Document consists of a detailed examination of the document text, generally in section-by-section or paragraph-by-paragraph format. Audience discusses the intended audience of the document's author. Impact examines the historical influence of the document. Questions for Further Study proposes study questions for students. Further Reading lists books, articles, and websites for further research. Document Text section Document Text gives the actual text of the primary source. Glossary defines important, difficult, or unusual terms in the document text.
Women and Slavery in America by Catherine M. Lewis; J. Richard Lewis
ISBN: 1557289581
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Women and Slavery offers readers an opportunity to examine the establishment, growth, and evolution of slavery in the United States as it impacted women-enslaved and free, African American and white, wealthy and poor, northern and southern. The primary documents-including newspaper articles, broadsides, cartoons, pamphlets, speeches, photographs, memoirs, and editorials-are organized thematically and represent cultural, political, religious, economic, and social perspectives on this dark and complex period in American history.

Subject Terms

African-Americans -- History -- Sources
Cultural pluralism -- United States -- History -- Sources
Minorities -- United States -- History -- Sources
Slave narratives
United States -- Race relations -- History -- Sources
United States -- Ethnic relations -- History -- Sources

Online Sources

K-12
1619 Project Curriculum
"The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative," (From the Website).

An Antiracist Reading List from Dr. Ibram X. Kendi

Anti-Racism Books for Kids

Association for the Study of African American Life and History
"Established on September 9, 1915 by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, we are the Founders of Black History Month and carry forth the work of our founder, the Father of Black History. We continue his legacy of speaking a fundamental truth to the world–that Africans and peoples of African descent are makers of history and co-workers in what W. E. B. Du Bois called, “The Kingdom of Culture.” ASALH’s mission is to create and disseminate knowledge about Black History, to be, in short, the nexus between the Ivory Tower and the global public. We labor in the service of Blacks and all humanity," (From the Website).

“Beloved Community” Teach-in
On January 14, 2022, in celebration of the King Holiday, The King Center is calling on educational institutions and organizations around the globe to join us for a worldwide Teach-In. The purpose of the Beloved Community Teach-In is to educate people of all ages about Dr. and Mrs. King’s legacy and how to champion completion of their unfinished work," (From the Website).

Intermediate & Secondary
Historical Fiction
"Fictitious essays, stories, and letters from slaves and slave owners portrayed in SLAVERY AND THE MAKING OF AMERICA. All of the readings, written by educators, are based on historical fact and offer elementary, middle, and high school age students engaging ways to "see" and "hear" what life was like in the time of slavery in America.

Intermediate to Secondary
Civil Rights Teaching
"Selected lessons and resources from the upcoming edition of Putting the Movement Back into Civil Rights Teaching. Some resources are already available for online access," (From the Website).

The African-American Mosaic
"This exhibit marks the publication of The African-American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture. A noteworthy and singular publication, the Mosaic is the first Library-wide resource guide to the institution's African-American collections. Covering the nearly 500 years of the black experience in the Western hemisphere, the Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections," (From the Website).

King Institute's Liberation Curriculum
"Provides document-based lesson plans, online educational resources, and historical materials pertaining to the modern African American Freedom Struggle and King's vision of a just and peaceful world. Currently directed by Dr. Mira S. Foster, this educational initiative seeks to transform the way students acquire and apply knowledge about the past," (From the Website).

Primary Sources
"A list of primary-source materials available throughout the SLAVERY AND THE MAKING OF AMERICA Web site, which is organized by themes. Under each theme is a list of the primary-source documents available," (From the Website).

Select General & News Databases:
Academic Search Premier
African American Studies Center
CQ Researcher
Credo Reference
Gale Academic OneFile
Gale OneFile: U.S. History
ProQuest Research Library
National Newspapers
Newspaper Navigator
Newspaper Source
Washington State News
Western Newsstand - Proquest
Yakima Herald Republic (Proquest)

Education Databases:
Education Journals - EBSCO
Education Journals - Proquest
Gale In Context: Elementary
Gale In Context: High School
Gale In Context: Middle School

Subject Terms

African American Children -- Education
African Americans -- Education
African American students
Afrocentrism -- Study and teaching -- United States
Educational equalization
Multicultural education

African American Literacies by Elaine Richardson
ISBN: 0415268826
Publication Date: 2002-12-13
African-American Literacies is a personal, public and political exploration of the problems faced by student writers from the African-American Vernacular English (AAVE) culture. Drawing on personal experience, Elaine Richardson provides a compelling account of the language and literacy practices of African-American students. The book analyses the problems encountered by the teachers of AAVE speakers, and offers African American centred theories and pedagogical methods of addressing these problems. Richardson builds on recent research to argue that teachers need not only to recognise the value and importance of African-American culture, but also to use African-American English when teaching AAVE speakers standard English. African-American Literacies offers a holistic and culturally relevant approach to literacy education, and is essential reading for anyone with an interest in the literacy practices of African-American students.
Becoming the Educator They Need by Robert Jackson
ISBN: 9781416628200
Publication Date: 2019-08-14
"They don't care about their education." "They are not capable of learning." "I can't work with them." "I can't get through to them." Just as you may have thought these things about your students, they, too, may have similar thoughts about you: "She doesn't care about my education." "He is not capable of understanding me." "I can't work with her." "I can't get through to him."While all students in your class, building, or school district need your support, the Black and Latino male students-the most underserved, suspended, and expelled students in education-need you to understand them as you support them so that they can thrive academically. In Becoming the Educator They Need, former professional athlete turned educator Robert Jackson reminds teachers and administrators that although "a great majority of all the stories in the news about Black and Latino males are negative," these young men-the most likely to be incarcerated, drop out of school, and become victims of homicide-need you to work through any biases you may have and internalize and employ the five core beliefs and mindsets necessary to best serve your Black and Latino male students, the six core values for teaching Black and Latino males, and the 11 characteristics of strong, healthy relationships and become the educator that these students need.
Contentious Curricula by Amy J. Binder
ISBN: 1400825458
Publication Date: 2009-01-10
This book compares two challenges made to American public school curricula in the 1980s and 1990s. It identifies striking similarities between proponents of Afrocentrism and creationism, accounts for their differential outcomes, and draws important conclusions for the study of culture, organizations, and social movements. Amy Binder gives a brief history of both movements and then describes how their challenges played out in seven school districts. Despite their very different constituencies--inner-city African American cultural essentialists and predominately white suburban Christian conservatives--Afrocentrists and creationists had much in common. Both made similar arguments about oppression and their children's well-being, both faced skepticism from educators about their factual claims, and both mounted their challenges through bureaucratic channels. In each case, challenged school systems were ultimately able to minimize or reject challengers' demands, but the process varied by case and type of challenge. Binder finds that Afrocentrists were more successful in advancing their cause than were creationists because they appeared to offer a solution to the real problem of urban school failure, met with more administrative sympathy toward their complaints of historic exclusion, sought to alter lower-prestige curricula (history, not science), and faced opponents who lacked a legal remedy comparable to the rule of church-state separation invoked by creationism's opponents. Binder's analysis yields several lessons for social movements research, suggesting that researchers need to pay greater attention to how movements seek to influence bureaucratic decision making, often from within. It also demonstrates the benefits of examining discursive, structural, and institutional factors in concert.
The Guide for White Women Who Teach Black Boys by Eddie Moore (Editor); Ali Michael (Editor); Marguerite W. Penick-Parks (Editor)
ISBN: 1506351689
Publication Date: 2017-10-25
Researchers and practitioners are, for the most part, in agreement that the greatest instructional gaps exist between white, female teachers and their black, male students. Achievement data consistently reveal that black boys are underperforming in the nation′s schools. The Guide for White Women Who Teach Black Boys requires the reader to work through activities that may challenge them, ask them to honestly reflect on who they are and where they come from. By engaging in personal and professional introspective work, this guide takes the reader through works by experts, stories by educators and students, and videos that will help personalize the educational lives of black boys and their white teachers.
The Innocent Classroom by Alexs Pate
ISBN: 1416629335
Publication Date: 2020-08-17
When children of color enter their classrooms each year, many often encounter low expectations, disconnection, and other barriers to their success. In The Innocent Classroom, Alexs Pate traces the roots of these disparities to pervasive negative stereotypes, which children are made aware of before they even walk through the school door. The cumulative weight of these stereotypes eventually takes shape as guilt, which inhibits students' engagement, learning, and relationships and hurts their prospects for the future. If guilt is the primary barrier for children of color in the classroom, then the solution, according to Pate, is to create an Innocent Classroom that neutralizes students' guilt and restores their innocence. To do so, readers will embark on a relationship "construction project" in which they will deepen their understanding of how children of color are burdened with guilt; discover students' "good," or the motivation behind their behaviors, and develop strategic responses to that good; and nurture, protect, and advocate for students' innocence.Ultimately, students will reclaim their innocence and begin to make choices that will lead to their success. Teachers will renew their commitment to their students. And the current ineffective system can give way to one that reflects a more enlightened understanding of who our children are--and what they are capable of.
The Life of Carter G.Woodson by Robert Franklin Durden
ISBN: 0766061221
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Carter G. Woodson, born just ten years after the Civil War ended, grew up in the lingering shadow of slavery. The son of former slaves, Woodson became the first scholar of African-American history, creating this field of university study. He was also the creator of Negro History Week, which has now grown into Black History Month, celebrated nationwide. The life and career of this pioneering historian are detailed in this book.
Motivating Black Males to Achieve in School and in Life by Baruti Kafele
ISBN: 1416608575
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
One of the most vexing problems confronting educators today is the chronic achievement gap between black male students and their peers. In this inspiring and thought-provoking book, veteran educator Baruti K. Kafele offers a blueprint for lifting black males up and ensuring their success in the classroom and beyond.Motivating Black Males to Achieve in School and in Life offers proven strategies for getting black male students in middle school and high school to value learning, improve their grades, and maintain high standards for themselves. The author shows how simple but powerful measures to instill self-worth in young black males can not only raise these students' achievement, but also profoundly alter their lives for the better. This book will help you to help students* Reverse the destructive effects of negative influences, whether among peers or in the popular culture;* Surmount adverse conditions at home or in their communities;* Participate in mentorship programs with successful black male adults; and* Take pride in their heritage by learning about great figures and achievements in black history.Whether your school is urban or rural, all-black or mixed, you'll find this book to be an insightful resource that addresses the root causes of low achievement among young black males and offers a clear path to overcoming them.
A Place at the Table by Maria Fleming (Editor)
ISBN: 9780195150360
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
Inspiring and true, A Place at the Table chronicles the lives of American freedom fighters whose stories are little-known, but whose efforts have paved the way for equality and justice in the face of extreme prejudice. Unsung heroes and their brave deeds, such as house slave ElizabethFreeman's momentous court battle winning her freedom, suffragette Sara Bard Field's cross-country journey for women's rights, and Nisqually Indian Billy Frank Jr.'s fight for Native American land rights, toppled barriers in education, voting, employment, housing, and other areas of discrimination. Arousing history of American champions of justice, A Place at the Table is filled with men and women who, when told by society to "stay in their place," insisted that "their place" was at the American table as full-fledged participants in democracy.
The Power of One by Gail L. Thompson (Editor)
ISBN: 1412976766
Publication Date: 2009-12-07
YOU have the power to make a difference with your African American students!This interactive staff development resource helps educators deal with the main barriers--often personal assumptions or mind-sets--that can impede their progress with African American K-12 students. Calling upon readers to embark upon a personal journey to address these issues, the author skillfully combines moving first-person narratives, personal growth exercises, and informational text, and shows educators how to: Deal with obstacles to successful classroom management Foster positive interactions within the classroom Prepare African American students to succeed on standardized tests Build positive relationships with African American parents
Restoring the Mind of Black America by Eddie Taylor
ISBN: 9781934155615
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
With a premise that the African American mind continues to deal with the impact of slavery on many levels, this proactive discussion analyzes the effect of such mental strain on black culture and proposes a model for creating more African American leaders and empowering African American communities. Dr. Taylor explores not only the history of slavery and the subsequent reparations in the United States but also the reparations that are still discernibly necessary, both financial and psychological. The traumatic impact of slavery on African Americans is examined in the fields of education, economics, family, history, and culture. In addition, this gripping book outlines ways in which a revitalization of African history and culture can help restore the African American psyche.
An RTI Guide to Improving the Performance of African American Students by Dwayne D. Williams
ISBN: 9781483319735
Publication Date: 2015-06-02
Help students thrive with this systematic approach to culturally responsive instruction!This breakthrough book shows educators how to create culturally relevant RTI models that meaningfully engage African American students. You'll learn to skillfully apply 4 core characteristics critical to culturally responsive instruction: communalism, movement expressiveness, orality, and verve. Richly detailed case studies and evidence-based, process-focused strategies will help you to: Understand how and why culture mediates learning Dispel cultural biases and appreciate the variability among all student groups Address all tiers of the RTI model across grade levels Work collaboratively with African American parents and communities
There Is Nothing Wrong with Black Students by Jawanza Kunjufu
ISBN: 1934155993
Publication Date: 2012-04-01
Refuting common ideas about the racial achievement gap, this exploration of the education system posits that the gap is not the result of the students, their parents, or the larger community, but rather stems from the limited effectiveness of the schools they attend. With a focus on what principals and teachers can do, this instructive resource explores ways that schools can change in order to better serve the needs of these students, such as gaining a better understanding of different learning styles, implementing a curriculum that is more relevant to students' lives, focusing on the amount of time each task takes each student, and experimenting with single-gender classrooms. This book also looks at examples of the success of black students in schools that have taken the time to apply some of these policies, demonstrating that any student can thrive when benefited with a passionate and comprehensive education.

Articles
Celebrating Juneteenth - National Museum of African American History and Culture
"Juneteenth marks our country’s second independence day. Though it has long been celebrated among the African American community, it is a history that has been marginalized and still remains largely unknown to the wider public. The legacy of Juneteenth shows the value of deep hope and urgent organizing in uncertain times," (From the website).

Juneteenth.com
Juneteenth is the oldest nationally celebrated commemoration of the ending of slavery in the United States," (From the website). From its Galveston, Texas origin in 1865, the observance of June 19th as the African American Emancipation Day has spread across the United States and beyond. Today Juneteenth commemorates African American freedom and emphasizes education and achievement," (From the website).

Juneteenth: A Celebration of Freedom - National Park Service
"Juneteenth is the oldest known US celebration of the abolition of the chattel slave system, and the emancipation of enslaved African Americans in Texas. Celebrated on June 19, it became an official national holiday known as Juneteenth National Independence Day by law on June 17, 2021," (From the website).

What Is Juneteenth?
Juneteenth (short for “June Nineteenth”) marks the day when federal troops arrived in Galveston, Texas in 1865 to take control of the state and ensure that all enslaved people be freed. The troops’ arrival came a full two and a half years after the signing of the Emancipation Proclamation. Juneteenth honors the end to slavery in the United States and is considered the longest-running African American holiday. On June 17, 2021, it officially became a federal holiday," (From the website).

Select General & News Databases:
Academic Search Premier
African American Studies Center
CQ Researcher
Credo Reference
Gale Academic OneFile
Gale OneFile: U.S. History
ProQuest Research Library

National Newspapers
Newspaper Navigator
Newspaper Source
Washington State News
Western Newsstand - Proquest
Yakima Herald Republic (Proquest)

King Holiday: The Urgency of Creating the Beloved Community--The King Center
Bernice King on celebrating MLK Day 2022 & voting rights

Select General & News Databases:
Academic Search Premier
African American Studies Center
CQ Researcher
Credo Reference
Gale Academic OneFile
Gale OneFile: U.S. History
ProQuest Research Library
National Newspapers
Newspaper Navigator
Newspaper Source
Washington State News
Western Newsstand - Proquest
Yakima Herald Republic (Proquest)

Online Sources

Biography: Black History
February marks Black History Month, a tribute to African American men and women who have made significant contributions to America and the rest of the world in the fields of science, politics, law, sports, the arts, entertainment, and many other fields.

How Carter G. Woodson's Life's Work Fueled the Creation of Black History Month
For the last four and a half decades, every February has marked the celebration of Black History Month — an annual observance that recognizes the achievements and contributions of Black Americans. But without historian Carter G. Woodson, who devoted much of his life to shining a light on Black history, the celebration might not exist. A century ago, the idea of highlighting Black accomplishments was all but nonexistent, and it is because of Woodson's creation of Negro History Week in 1926 that Black History Month has become one of the most significant periods of the year.

The History of Black History Month
"Daryl Michael Scott, Professor of History at Howard University and Vice President of Program for the Association for the Study of African American Life and History, discusses the history of the Black History Month Celebration.

The Man Behind Black History Month
In 1915, Carter G. Woodson traveled to Chicago from his home in Washington, D.C. to take part in a national celebration of the 50th anniversary of emancipation. He had earned his bachelor’s and master’s degree at the University of Chicago, and still had many friends there. As he joined the thousands of Black Americans overflowing from the Coliseum, which housed exhibits highlighting African American achievements since the abolition of slavery, Woodson was inspired to do more in the spirit of celebrating Black history and heritage.

Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History by Colin A. Palmer; Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780028658162
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
Users looking for authoritative and comprehensive information about black history, figures and accomplishments now have a defining and current reference to address their needs. The second edition of the Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History is a much-needed expansion of the 1996 classic and its 2000 supplement. As with the earlier publications, the second edition is aimed at high school and college students, as well as the general reader. Whereas the first edition focused almost exclusively on the United States, this new set identifies and addresses broad themes critical to understanding the texture of the cultures, achievements, challenges and comprise North America, Central and South America and the Caribbean. Readers can find comparative analyses of social movements, languages, religions and family structures in the context of an interdisciplinary framework that fills a substantial gap in studies of this genre. While many articles from the original set have updated content and bibliographies, almost half of the second edition is composed of completely new scholarship.
Simple Justice by Richard Kluger
ISBN: 1400030617
Publication Date: 2004-04-13
Simple Justice is the definitive history of the landmark case Brown v. Board of Education and the epic struggle for racial equality in this country. Combining intensive research with original interviews with surviving participants, Richard Kluger provides the fullest possible view of the human and legal drama in the years before 1954, the cumulative assaults on the white power structure that defended segregation, and the step-by-step establishment of a team of inspired black lawyers that could successfully challenge the law. Now, on the fiftieth anniversary of the unanimous Supreme Court decision that ended legal segregation, Kluger has updated his work with a new final chapter covering events and issues that have arisen since the book was first published, including developments in civil rights and recent cases involving affirmative action, which rose directly out of Brown v. Board of Education.
Freedom Riders by Raymond Arsenault
ISBN: 0195136748
Publication Date: 2006-01-15
Here is the definitive account of a dramatic and indeed pivotal moment in American history, a critical episode that transformed the civil rights movement in the early 1960s.Raymond Arsenault offers a meticulously researched and grippingly written account of the Freedom Rides, one of the most compelling chapters in the history of civil rights. Arsenault recounts how in 1961, emboldened by federal rulings that declared segregated transit unconstitutional, a group ofvolunteers--blacks and whites--traveled together from Washington DC through the Deep South, defying Jim Crow laws in buses and terminals, putting their bodies and their lives on the line for racial justice. The book paints a harrowing account of the outpouring of hatred and violence that greeted theFreedom Riders in Alabama and Mississippi. One bus was disabled by Ku Klux Klansmen, then firebombed. In Birmingham and Montgomery, mobs of white supremacists swarmed the bus stations and battered the riders with fists and clubs while local police refused to intervene. The mayhem in Montgomery wascaptured by news photographers, shocking the nation, and sparking a crisis in the Kennedy administration, which after some hesitation and much public outcry, came to the aid of the Freedom Riders. Arsenault brings the key actors in this historical drama vividly to life, with colorful portraits ofthe Kennedys, Jim Farmer, John Lewis, Diane Nash, Fred Shuttlesworth, and Martin Luther King, Jr. Their courage, their fears, and the agonizing choices made by all these individuals run through the story like an electric current.The saga of the Freedom Rides is an improbable, almost unbelievable story. In the course of six months, some four hundred and fifty Riders expanded the realm of the possible in American politics, redefining the limits of dissent and setting the stage in the years to come for the 1963Birmingham demonstrations, Freedom Summer and the Selma-to-Montgomery March. With characters and plot lines rivaling those of the most imaginative fiction, this is a tale of heroic sacrifice and unexpected triumph.
Being Black by Althea Prince; Insomniac Press Staff
ISBN: 9781895837773
Publication Date: 2001-09-25
Following in the highly personal tradition of essayists such as Dionne Brand and bell hooks, Althea Prince culls thirty years of lived experience into an important new collection, Being Black. A writer and sociologist, Prince tackles the complacency she sees in some manifestations of Black Canadian culture -- such as Toronto's popular Caribana festival -- as well as in white society's attitudes towards Black culture, as revealed by Prince's involvement with the notorious Writers' Union of Canada-sponsored Writing Thru Race conference.
Racial & Ethnic Relations in America, Second Edition by Kibibi Mack-Shelton (Editor)
ISBN: 1682173151
Publication Date: 2017-05-15
Over 900 entries present clear, detailed descriptions of ideas and theories, descriptions of people and events, and essential facts about court cases, laws and movements. This new edition features a full update of existing material, taking into consideration new terms and language regarding race. Hundreds of articles have been added to this edition, including: Black Lives Matter, Black LGBTQ, Violence in Black Communities, Black Education Achievement Gap, Black Mass Incarceration, Inner City Youth Employment Crisis, Victimology and Black Reparations, and White on Black Killings.

Subject Headings

African American arts
African American musicians
African American neighborhoods
African American poets
African Americans -- Folklore
African Americans -- Race identity
African Americans -- Social life and customs
African Americans -- Politics and government
African Americans -- Intellectual life
African Americans in literature
African Americans in popular culture
African Americans -- Social conditions
African Americans -- Social life and customs
American literature -- African American authors
Hip-hop
Rap (Music)

Online Sources

Black Lives Matter Support Resources and Links
"A list of resources, petitions, organizations, and mutual aid funds that support the Black Lives Matter movement.

National Bail Fund Network
"The National Bail Fund Network is made up of over ninety community bail and bond funds across the country. We regularly update this listing of community bail funds that are freeing people by paying bail/bond and are also fighting to abolish the money bail system and pretrial detention.

Ways You Can Help
"When You’re Done: Educate Yourself. This Doesn’t Go Away Once The Topic Isn’t, “Trending.”

Select General & News Databases:
Academic Search Premier
African American Studies Center
CQ Researcher
Credo Reference
Gale Academic OneFile
ProQuest Research Library
National Newspapers
Newspaper Navigator
Newspaper Source
Washington State News
Western Newsstand - Proquest
Yakima Herald Republic (Proquest)

Black Lives Matter: from a Moment to a Movement by Laurie Collier Hillstrom
ISBN: 144086571X
Publication Date: 2018-09-07
This much-needed reference text places the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement within the broader context of the African American struggle for equality in America, from the civil rights movement of the 1950s and 1960s to the violent protests against white supremacy that took place in Charlottesville in 2017. Specific topics include the fatal shooting of Trayvon Martin in Florida in 2012, which gave rise to the hashtag #BlackLivesMatter; the fatal shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, in 2014, which launched the rise of the movement; and the fatal shootings of police officers in Dallas, Texas, and Baton Rouge, Louisiana, in 2016, which sparked bitter backlash. It also covers the virulent alt-right backlash against BLM and the ways in which BLM leaders are responding to the challenge. Features of the book include an introduction; seven topical chapters covering the historical background to, origin and growth of, and backlash against the Black Lives Matter movement; and a conclusion. In addition, ten biographical "snapshots" cover key individuals involved with the movement, and eight primary source documents further illuminate issues discussed in the text. Other features include a timeline, an annotated bibliography, and a subject index.
Black Lives Matter by Sue Bradford Edwards
ISBN: 1680771094
Publication Date: 2015-12-15
Black Lives Matter covers the shootings that touched off passionate protests, the work of activists to bring about a more just legal system, and the tensions in US society that these events have brought to light. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
The Black Lives Matter Movement by Peggy J. Parks
ISBN: 1682822869
Publication Date: 2017-08-01
Black Lives Matter was born in July 2013 after a jury exonerated the killer of an unarmed black youth named Trayvon Martin. Since that time it has become known as a formidable, often controversial, civil rights movement that seeks equality and fair treatment of black citizens by law enforcement and by society as a whole.
Black Lives Matter by Stuart A. Kallen
ISBN: 1678200255
Publication Date: 2020-12-22
When a Florida jury rendered its not guilty verdict in 2013 in the shooting death of an unarmed Black teen, a grassroots movement was born. Seven years later, in the wake of police killings of unarmed Black men and women, Black Lives Matter is a force to be reckoned with--on the national and world stage.
Black Lives Matter by Duchess Harris JD
ISBN: 1532151802
Publication Date: 2017-12-15
What started as a hashtag in 2013 quickly grew into the Black Lives Matter movement. Black Lives Matter examines the police shootings that fueled the movement, the events that led up to racial tensions in the United States, and the goals the movement has set for the future. Easy-to-read text, vivid images, and helpful back matter give readers a clear look at this subject. Features include a table of contents, infographics, a glossary, additional resources, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Core Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.

References

Cabrera, N. L. (2018). Where is the Racial Theory in Critical Race Theory?: A constructive criticism of the Crits. Review of Higher Education, 42(1), 209-233. https://doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2018.0038

Critical Race Theory FAQ. (). https://www.naacpldf.org/critical-race-theory-faq/

Delgado, R. (2012). In Stefancic J., ebrary I.(Eds.), Critical race theory an introduction (2nd ed.. ed.). New York : New York University Press.

Gibbons, Rashawn Ray and Alexandra. (2021, -07-02T17:00:21+00:00). Why are states banning critical race theory? https://www.brookings.edu/blog/fixgov/2021/07/02/why-are-states-banning-critical-race-theory/

Ladson-Billings, G., & Tate, W. (1995). Toward a Critical Race Theory of Education. Teachers College Record, 97, 47-68.

Race is-- race isn't : critical race theory and qualitative studies in education (1999). . Boulder, Colorado; Oxford, England : Westview Press.

Sawchuk, S. (2021, -05-18T16:53:34.289). What Is Critical Race Theory, and Why Is It Under Attack? Education Week https://www.edweek.org/leadership/what-is-critical-race-theory-and-why-is-it-under-attack/2021/05

Stovall, D. (2005). A challenge to traditional theory: Critical race theory, African-American community organizers, and education. Discourse (Abingdon, England), 26(1), 95-108. https://doi.org/10.1080/01596300500040912

Strong-Wilson, T. (2012). Foundations of Critical Race Theory in Education. Cultural and Pedagogical Inquiry, 3(2)https://doi.org/10.18733/C34S3C

Treviño, A. J., Harris, M. A., & Wallace, D. (2008). What's so critical about critical race theory? Contemporary Justice Review : CJR, 11(1), 7-10. https://doi.org/10.1080/10282580701850330

Critical Race Theory (Third Edition) by Richard Delgado; Jean Stefancic; Angela Harris (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1479846368
Publication Date: 2017-03-07
Updated to include the Black Lives Matter movement, the presidency of Barack Obama, the rise of hate speech on the Internet, and more Since the publication of the first edition of Critical Race Theory in 2001, the United States has lived through two economic downturns, an outbreak of terrorism, and the onset of an epidemic of hate directed against immigrants, especially undocumented Latinos and Middle Eastern people. On a more hopeful note, the country elected and re-elected its first black president and has witnessed the impressive advance of gay rights. As a field, critical race theory has taken note of all these developments, and this primer does so as well. It not only covers a range of emerging new topics and events, it also addresses the rise of a fierce wave of criticism from right-wing websites, think tanks, and foundations, some of which insist that America is now colorblind and has little use for racial analysis and study. Critical Race Theory is essential for understanding developments in this burgeoning field, which has spread to other disciplines and countries. The new edition also covers the ways in which other societies and disciplines adapt its teachings and, for readers wanting to advance a progressive race agenda, includes new questions for discussion, aimed at outlining practical steps to achieve this objective.
Race Is... Race Isn't by Laurence Parker; Donna Deyhle; Sofia Villenas (Editor)
ISBN: 0813390699
Publication Date: 1999-05-07
The field of critical race theory has gotten increasingly more attention as an emerging perspective on race, the law, and policy. Critical race theory examines the social construction of the law, administrative policy, electoral politics, and political discourse in the U.S.Race Is ... Race Isn't presents a group of qualitative research studies, literature reviews, and commentaries that collectively articulate critical race theory in secondary and post-secondary educational settings. The editors explore links and conflicts with other areas of difference, including language, ethnicity, gender, and sexual orientation, with the goal of opening a dialogue about how critical race theory can be incorporated into education research methodologies.
Crossroads, Directions, and a New Critical Race Theory by Francisco Valdes (Editor); Jerome McCristal-Culp (Editor); Angela P. Harris (Editor)
ISBN: 9781566399296
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Its opponents call it part of the lunatic fringe, a justification for black separateness, the most embarrassing trend in American publishing. It is Critical Race Theory. But what is Critical Race Theory? How did it develop? Where does it stand now? Where should it go in the future? In this volume, thirty-one CRT scholars present their views on the ideas and methods of CRT, its role in academia and in the culture at large, and its past, present, and future. Critical race theorists assert that both the procedures and the substance of American law are structured to maintain white privilege. The neutrality and objectivity of the law are not just unattainable ideals; they are harmful actions that obscure the law's role in protecting white supremacy. This notionOCoso obvious to some, so unthinkable to othersOCohas stimulated and divided legal thinking in this country and, increasingly, abroad. The essays in "Crossroads, Directions," and a New Critical Race TheoryOCoall originalOCoaddress this notion in a variety of helpful and exciting ways. They use analysis, personal experience, historical narrative, and many other techniques to explain the importance of looking critically at how race permeates our national consciousness."
A Different View of Urban Schools by Kitty Kelly Epstein
ISBN: 0820478792
Publication Date: 2006-02-27
A Different View of Urban Schools tells a fascinating story about the realities of urban education in America. It provides new insights on teacher selection and preparation, curriculum, school takeovers, federal legislation, the role of business, and the impact of the civil rights movement on urban schools. The result is a new perspective on what educational reform requires in American cities. This book will be useful to teachers, policy makers, school board members, and parents, as well as classes in multicultural education, ethnic studies, and the social foundations of education.

Critical legal studies -- United States
Discrimination in education -- United States
Educational equalization -- United States
Minorities -- Education -- United States
Race awareness
Race discrimination -- Law and legislation -- United States
Racism -- United States
Racism in education -- United States
United States -- Race relations

Donald K North Library: Black History Month

Martin Luther King Jr.

Letters and Speeches:

"Give Us the Ballot"
Text, Video

"Letter from the Birmingham Jail"
Text

"I Have A Dream"
Text, Video

"The American Dream"
Text, Audio

"Where Do We Go From Here?"
Text, Audio

"I've Been To the Mountaintop"
Text, Video

Books

The Word of the Lord is upon me the righteous performance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Jonathan Rieder ebrary, Inc. 2008

The life of Martin Luther King, Jr. : leader for civil rights. Michael Schuman author. 2015

FREEDOM'S STORY: Teaching African-American Literature and History

Podcasts & Media Presentations

The theme for Black History Month 2024 is African Americans and the Arts

Local Resources

African-American Holidays, Heritage, and History

Subject Terms

African-Americans -- History -- Sources
Cultural pluralism -- United States -- History -- Sources
Minorities -- United States -- History -- Sources
Slave narratives
United States -- Race relations -- History -- Sources
United States -- Ethnic relations -- History -- Sources

Subject Terms

African American Children -- Education
African Americans -- Education
African American students
Afrocentrism -- Study and teaching -- United States
Educational equalization
Multicultural education

Online Sources

Online Sources

Black Lives Matter Support Resources and Links
"A list of resources, petitions, organizations, and mutual aid funds that support the Black Lives Matter movement.

Ways You Can Help
"When You’re Done: Educate Yourself. This Doesn’t Go Away Once The Topic Isn’t, “Trending.”

References

Cabrera, N. L. (2018). Where is the Racial Theory in Critical Race Theory?: A constructive criticism of the Crits. Review of Higher Education, 42(1), 209-233. https://doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2018.0038

Critical Race Theory FAQ. (). https://www.naacpldf.org/critical-race-theory-faq/

Delgado, R. (2012). In Stefancic J., ebrary I.(Eds.), Critical race theory an introduction (2nd ed.. ed.). New York : New York University Press.

Gibbons, Rashawn Ray and Alexandra. (2021, -07-02T17:00:21+00:00). Why are states banning critical race theory? https://www.brookings.edu/blog/fixgov/2021/07/02/why-are-states-banning-critical-race-theory/

Ladson-Billings, G., & Tate, W. (1995). Toward a Critical Race Theory of Education. Teachers College Record, 97, 47-68.

Race is-- race isn't : critical race theory and qualitative studies in education (1999). . Boulder, Colorado; Oxford, England : Westview Press.

Sawchuk, S. (2021, -05-18T16:53:34.289). What Is Critical Race Theory, and Why Is It Under Attack? Education Week https://www.edweek.org/leadership/what-is-critical-race-theory-and-why-is-it-under-attack/2021/05

Stovall, D. (2005). A challenge to traditional theory: Critical race theory, African-American community organizers, and education. Discourse (Abingdon, England), 26(1), 95-108. https://doi.org/10.1080/01596300500040912

Strong-Wilson, T. (2012). Foundations of Critical Race Theory in Education. Cultural and Pedagogical Inquiry, 3(2)https://doi.org/10.18733/C34S3C

Treviño, A. J., Harris, M. A., & Wallace, D. (2008). What's so critical about critical race theory? Contemporary Justice Review : CJR, 11(1), 7-10. https://doi.org/10.1080/10282580701850330

Donald K North Library: Black History Month

Martin Luther King Jr.

Letters and Speeches:

Books

The Word of the Lord is upon me the righteous performance of Martin Luther King, Jr. Jonathan Rieder ebrary, Inc. 2008

The life of Martin Luther King, Jr. : leader for civil rights. Michael Schuman author. 2015

FREEDOM'S STORY: Teaching African-American Literature and History

Podcasts & Media Presentations

The theme for Black History Month 2024 is African Americans and the Arts

Local Resources

African-American Holidays, Heritage, and History

Subject Terms

Subject Terms African American Children -- Education African Americans -- Education African American students Afrocentrism -- Study and teaching -- United States Educational equalization Multicultural education

Online Sources

Online Sources

Black Lives Matter Support Resources and Links "A list of resources, petitions, organizations, and mutual aid funds that support the Black Lives Matter movement.

Ways You Can Help "When You’re Done: Educate Yourself. This Doesn’t Go Away Once The Topic Isn’t, “Trending.”

References

Cabrera, N. L. (2018). Where is the Racial Theory in Critical Race Theory?: A constructive criticism of the Crits. Review of Higher Education, 42(1), 209-233. https://doi.org/10.1353/rhe.2018.0038

Critical Race Theory FAQ. (). https://www.naacpldf.org/critical-race-theory-faq/

Delgado, R. (2012). In Stefancic J., ebrary I.(Eds.), Critical race theory an introduction (2nd ed.. ed.). New York : New York University Press.

Gibbons, Rashawn Ray and Alexandra. (2021, -07-02T17:00:21+00:00). Why are states banning critical race theory? https://www.brookings.edu/blog/fixgov/2021/07/02/why-are-states-banning-critical-race-theory/

Ladson-Billings, G., & Tate, W. (1995). Toward a Critical Race Theory of Education. Teachers College Record, 97, 47-68.

Race is-- race isn't : critical race theory and qualitative studies in education (1999). . Boulder, Colorado; Oxford, England : Westview Press.

Sawchuk, S. (2021, -05-18T16:53:34.289). What Is Critical Race Theory, and Why Is It Under Attack? Education Week https://www.edweek.org/leadership/what-is-critical-race-theory-and-why-is-it-under-attack/2021/05

Stovall, D. (2005). A challenge to traditional theory: Critical race theory, African-American community organizers, and education. Discourse (Abingdon, England), 26(1), 95-108. https://doi.org/10.1080/01596300500040912

Strong-Wilson, T. (2012). Foundations of Critical Race Theory in Education. Cultural and Pedagogical Inquiry, 3(2)https://doi.org/10.18733/C34S3C

Treviño, A. J., Harris, M. A., & Wallace, D. (2008). What's so critical about critical race theory? Contemporary Justice Review : CJR, 11(1), 7-10. https://doi.org/10.1080/10282580701850330

Subject Terms

African American Children -- Education
African Americans -- Education
African American students
Afrocentrism -- Study and teaching -- United States
Educational equalization
Multicultural education

Black Lives Matter Support Resources and Links
"A list of resources, petitions, organizations, and mutual aid funds that support the Black Lives Matter movement.

Ways You Can Help
"When You’re Done: Educate Yourself. This Doesn’t Go Away Once The Topic Isn’t, “Trending.”